HARRY Butler and Pat Watkins are the 2012 club champions at Ross Golf Club.

Sixteen-year-old Butler beat the 2010 champion James Morgan over 36 holes of scratch golf despite having a five handicap compared with his opponent’s two.

The pair were all-square after 18 holes but Butler moved ahead in the afternoon session, finally winning 2 and 1 at the 35th to become the club’s youngest ever champion.

Watkins secured the ladies’ title in a keenly-contested finals day match with Alison Harvey.

Meanwhile, Gillian Clouder won the Summer Knockout competition by beating Erika Atkins and Jan Reid beat Anne Crocker in a nail-biting match to secure the Bronze Scratch Cup. q Belmont GC Seniors away day at Peterstone Lakes, Jubilee Cup: 1 Steve Norwood 42 pts, 2 Andrew Sutton 41, 3 Percy Bristow 38.

Team Stableford: 1 Roger Smith, Dennis Pritchard and Keith Taylor 86 pts, 2 Maurice Embrey, Eddie Probert and Ray Saunders 84. q Leominster GC, Ladies’ President’s Prize: 1 Wendy Lane 96-21-75, 2 Carol Rudd 109-22-87.

Men’s Yellowball competition: 1 Paul Lane, Kevin Jones, Rob Brothewood and Mike Marguerie 160 pts, 2 Terry Davies, Roger Barrington, Mike Rusling and Kevin Gibbons 159, 3 Phil Evans, Jason Cullwick, Richard Beaumont and Ashley Moran 155. q Kington GC, Seniors’ Texas Scramble: 1 John A Williams, Bert Priday and Glyn Wictome 48 pts, 2 Bill Eaton, Sam Hinton and John Allen 47, 3 Keith Douglas, Richard Williams and David Sayers 47. Shropshire and Herefordshire Golf Union, Ken Smith Seniors Scratch Competition: Herefordshire ‘A’ are in grave danger of failing to qualify for the semi-final stages after following a 2-1 defeat by Leominster.

A further 2-1 reverse at Patshull Park followed where John McQuillan and Keith Williams obtained Herefordshire’s solitary victory. q Herefordshire GC, Ladies’ section charity competition, Division 1: 1 Tina Bell 31 pts; Division 2A: 1 Ellen Goodchild 31 pts, 2 Diane Gibson 29; Division 2B: 1 Joy Phillips 36 pts, 2 Jackie Barr 29.

Past captains’ competition: 1 Iris Corfield, 2 Marie Parry, 3 Athelae Hart.

Phyllis Murray Cup: 1 Iris Corfield, 2 Diana Morris.

Richardson Trophy (Scratch competition): 1 Karen Darby.

Haines Trophy (for handicap players): 1 Sue Mawby. q Burghill Valley GC, Seniors four-club Stableford, Division One: 1 Bill Lockhart 38 pts, 2 Brian Vaughan 35, 3 David Burchell-Blann 33; Division Two: 1 David Evans 34 pts, 2 Keith Shaw 31, 3 Paul Baker 31.

Seniors’ Stableford, Division One: 1 Trevor Brookes 44 pts, 2 Don Barrington 42, 3 Bill Harris 38; Division Two: 1 Peter Haddock 37 pts, 2 Bill Toman 37, 3 David Bateman 36.

Ladies’ section, All Winners Trophy, Division One: 1, and overall winner: Rebecca Lloyd 70 nett, 2 Sharon Helps 71, 3 Judi Clark 77; Division Two: 1 Jacqui Powell 71 nett, 2 Jo Taylor 73, 3 Ann Saunders 80; Division Three: 1 Ann Oldman 79 nett, 2 Jean Taylor 82, 3 Ruth Burrough 85.

Mixed section, mixed club championship, first gross: Mark Lewis and Becky Lloyd 85; first nett: Dean and Jacqui Powell 85. q Grove GC, ladies’ section, Bronze One: 1 Chris Anning, 2 Jane Luffman; Bronze Two: 1 Clare Hadley, 2 Irene Gallagher. Badger Course: 1 Olwen Helme, 2 Sally Wright. q South Herefordshire GC, annual invitation day: 1 Rob Lerigo and Adrian Bennett (Minchinhampton GC) 42 pts, 2 Paul Stone and D Stone 40.

Despite their relatively small size compared with some of the other county golf unions in Wales, Brecon and Radnor County Golf Union turned in a creditable performance to finish seventh of eight at the Inter-Counties Championship at Borth & Ynyslas GC.

From the teams of six, only one golfer stayed under par in the five best 18-hole medal rounds to count in the morning and then in the afternoon.

The aggregate of the rounds determined the unions’ finishing positions.

Brecon and Radnor’s best results were 12 over for Gareth Jones (72+80), 13 over for Ben Davies (79+74) and 14 over for Tim Iveson (76+78). The other team members were Kevin Percy, Gareth Powell and Olly Douglas.