Second straight double for Garnons



First published in Sport by

GARNONS completed their second successive GB Liners Marches League double when they beat Luctonians by 77 runs in Sunday's final at Goodrich.

The club had already secured the Division One title, their ninth championship since the league was formed in 1992.

Garnons got away to a good start with experienced openers Clive Scott (48) and Alan Jones (41) posting 93 for the first wicket.

Skipper James Debenham (43) and Sam Bendall (43) kept the runs flowing although a collapse from 215-3 to 227 all out left Garnons short of the total they might have expected on a flat pitch and in perfect batting conditions.

James Bolton (1-24) removed Chris Ibbetson early in the Luctonians reply but the key wicket fell immediately afterwards when Jones (1-14) trapped skipper James Platford leg-before first ball.

After that, although Duncan Platford batted well for the game's top score of 54, wickets fell at regular intervals and, with Duane Evans (3-42) and Rob Pritchard (2-15) the leading performers for Garnons, the north Herefordshire side were all out for 151.

The previous day, Crickhowell had confirmed top-flight runners-up spot with a 67-run win over Kington.

In Division Two, Woolhope's crushing nine-wicket success against Knighton-on-Teme means that they will join Ledbury in Division One next season.

Ledbury completed an unbeaten season with a mammoth 197-run win over Presteigne, underpinned by Luke Ledbury's unbeaten 131.

In a title showdown in Division Four, Eastnor 3rd took top spot from Bosbury after beating their rivals by 53 runs.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree