Herefordshire crew win class at Epynt Stages

Hereford Times: (4481446) (4481446)

HEREFORDSHIRE Motor Club duo Roger Moran and Joy Hoyle brought their Escort Mk II to the Llandovery finish 10th overall after a demanding day over the asphalt roads on Epynt’s military ranges.

The Moran Motorhomes car ran faultlessly all day and their class competition was fierce, so a third in class B12 was a superb achievement.

Eighty competitive miles were scheduled but two stages were cancelled due to accidents, nevertheless the pace of the rally was extremely quick and with a high quality entry.

Darren and Sue Underwood collected first in class in their Crystal Images Awards Nova, with a convincing win by more than three minutes.

The Michelin-tyre shod 1600 had a trouble-free day except for a fuel pump change at the penultimate service, which netted the Leominster couple 17th overall and first front-wheel drive car.

Maximum class points were received for the REIS MSA National Asphalt Championship which puts the couple in good stead for their next event on the May Manx National Rally.

Overall, there was a three-way battle commencing the final stage, with Damian Cole and Elliot Edmondson (Focus WRC) emerging winners by a mere second from Peter Lloyd and Neil James (Impreza S14) ahead of Steve Simpson and Patrick Walsh (Impreza WRC) nine seconds down.


Get Adobe Flash player
About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree