HEREFORD & County Athletics Club stormed to a resounding win in the latest Midlands Track & Field League meeting to go within one point of Burton at the top of Division Six.

Competing against Shrewsbury, Burton, Forest of Dean, Newcastle (Staffs), Harborough, Tamworth and Nuneaton, the host club gained 30 first place finishes, 19 of which were in A string events.

The day started with the men`s hammer and saw Kevin Barnes coming fifth with 13.84m.

This was followed by the women's long jump and the first of seven double wins, with Nicola Masters winning with a jump of 4.75m, closely followed by Cara Bennett with 4.19m to win the B event.

Teagan Hemblade later the women's pole vault, while aunt and niece Ruth Wells and Leah Russell-Wells completed a double success in the javelin.

Ben Thompson jumped a new personal best in the long jump with 5.14m for fourth spot in the A event, while on the track, Sylvia Misztal took the win in the 400m hurdles with a personal best time of 68.1 seconds.

The women's 800m saw Clara Evans win the first of her races in 2:24.7, with Abbie Roberts, the youngest athlete on the day at 14, finishing fourth in the B string.

In the men's 800m, Paul Graham won the B event, while the women's 200m saw Megan Turton prevail in 26.9 seconds and Nicola Masters coming second in the B race.

The men's 200m also saw a double win with Cody Cooke and Matt Glancey winning their A and B races respectively.

Ruth Wells then won the shot with a throw of 8.50m, while Sylvia Misztal and Tasmin Headland won their 100m hurdles races.

This was followed by Clara Evans being victorious in the 3000m and then Misztal and Headland teaming up in the 400m; Misztal winning the A race and Headland coming second in the B.

The men's 400m saw Zack McHrillen coming second and Ollie Howl winning the B race.

Over in the women's discus, Cara Bennett beat her older and more experienced team mate for the first time with a throw of 27.24m, with Ruth Wells second overall and first in the B class.

In the high jump, Nicola Masters cleared 1.40m to win the A event and Cara Bennett prevailing in the B category.

Clara Evans completed her own successful individual events with another win in the 1500m, which was followed by Oscar Hewitt winning the men's equivalent; Paul Graham came top in the B race.

In the 100m races, Megan Turton won a tight race to finish second; Nicola Masters won the B race, while in the men's race, Cody Cooke won in a time of 10.9 seconds and Ollie Howl came top in the B event in 12.2.

The last individual race of the day saw Paul Graham win the 5000m in 16:35.9, with Kevin Barnes fourth.

Barnes was involved in the last field event, also coming fourth in the B class behind Matt Glancey, who was second in A.

The relays saw Nicola Masters, Shanisha Hare, Sylvia Misztal and Megan Turton combine to win the 4x100m in 52.4 secs and Matt Glancey, Ben Thompson, Zack McGrillen and Cody Cooke win their 4x100m in 47.9. The 4x400m women of Clara Evans, Tamsin Headland, Shanisha Hare and Sylvia Misztal came second while the men's team of Paul Graham, Oscar Hewitt, Zack McGrillen and Ollie Howl were victorious in their race. The last meeting is at Tamworth on August 7.