ROSS-ON-WYE Golf Club member Marcus McEvoy showed his form to take honours in the Barnfield Trophy event.

Normally the first 2024 Honours Board competition at the Gorsley based Ross Golf Club should have been their annual Barnfield Trophy event.

Members qualify by being amongst the top performing 12 achievers in the five Mixed Winter Stableford events held throughout the winter.

However, the difficult and wet weather conditions over the winter months meant that just two qualifying events took place, so not only were the final start-sheet numbers affected accordingly with 40 members on board, but it resulted in the final taking place only recently.

Eleven handicapper McEvoy may feel that he has benefitted as the occasion coincided with him enjoying a current rich vein of form which has seen his name at the top of the final results table on two separate occasions.

In the Barnfield Trophy his 38 points total was just enough with Nigel Allen having to settle for the runners-up slot with 37 points.

Former Barnfield Champion Tim Lewis came close to a repeat win with 36 points followed by Dave Roberts with 35 points and Allen Haines, Daniel Gill, Joe Lawrence and Tim Harrison each with 34 points.

The club also held their recent annual Spring Scratch and Handicap medal event in which 114 took part.

McEvoy came up trumps again when his gross 80, net 69 medal score won him the title of best net handicap performer.

He was followed impressively by Ross Juniors players and twins Ollie Walker with a net 71 score and brother Billy with a net 72 score.

Recent Gordon Blake Cup winner Wayne Rees again featured with a net 72 medal round. 

The number one performer and honours board Spring Scratch Champion was Tim Wyatt with a gross 72 medal round score with both Nigel Evans and Cam Haines also carding gross 72's but missing out on the top spot on count-back.

Wyatt's marvellous birdie three on the highly challenging 17th hole was the key influencer enabling him to win this prestigious again after last achieving greatness in 2016 and finishing runner-up in the 2019 event.

Harry Griffiths came close with a gross 73 followed by Mike Burris, Allan Burry and Ross Webb with gross 75 scores.

Other golf results from across Herefordshire:

Grove GC

Senior Texas Scramble (June 25): 1. Mike Hughes, Terry Williams, Joe James & David Mains 27.12 point; 2. Bob Davies, Chris Cooke, John Phipps & Clive Whitear 27.75 c/b; 3. Steve Hadley, Rob Parker-Morgan, Tony Partridge & Alan Williams 27.75.