GRASS-TRACK motorcyclists from across the country descended on Pencombe for a day of thrilling action.

The Ledbury Motorcycle Club held their first meeting of the new season at their venue near Bromyard recently.

The titled Ledbury Leader Grass-Track event attracted a large crowd, who were treated to 71 races, full of great action, thrills and spills.

The event now a major date on the National Grass-Track calendar attracted over 170 riders from all corners of the UK including a strong contingent of entrants from Herefordshire and surrounding counties.

It was some of the country's brightest youth racers who opened the busy programme and in the Cadets Class, Jacob Phillips from Malvern aboard his Orange KTM 65cc machine produced a great performance taking the overall win.

In the class for the very youngest of competitors, the Auto Cadets, Archie Rolph who had travelled all the way from Braintree in Essex proved victorious.

The only other local county rider to seriously figure in the final results of any of the 12 different classes contested was Rob Finlow of Kidderminister.

Finlow finished sixth in a star-studded 500cc solo class which was dominated by riders with speedway racing connections.

Taking the win was Swindon and Birmingham ace James Shanes, who is based in Dorset, and is also a triple British Grass-Track Racing Champion.

Not to be outdone, there was also plenty of outstanding sidecar racing action at Pencombe. In the 500cc class, Josh Goodwin/Liam Brown just held on to take the win by the narrowest of margins despite a very determined challenge from Shaun Hughes/Louis Bennett. The big 1000cc sidecar final concluded the action at Pencombe and produced one of the most thrilling battles of the meeting.

In a super tussle, Kieran Hicks/Kieron Ivy led the early exchanges before being passed by both winner Tom Cossar/Wayne Rickards and Paul Whitelam/Liam Brown.

Ledbury Motorcycle Club now look forward to their next event at Pencombe on June 15.

Results: Auto Cadets: 1. Archie Rolph; 2 Oliver Bovingdon. Cadets: 1. Jacob Phillips; 2. Harley Stainer; 3. Kayden Mundy. Juniors: 1. Thomas Vining; 2. Corey Stainer; 3. Ethan Childe.

Intermediates: 1. Mickie Simpson; 2. Jake Mulford; 3 Danny Curl. 250cc Solo: 1. Luke Harris; 2. Graham Thomas; 3. Tim Greig. 350cc Solo: 1. Mark Giles; 2. Dave Mears; 3. Neil Taylor. 500cc Solo: 1. James Shanes; 2. James Wright; 3. Tom Perry.

Pre 75: 1. Graham Brown; 2. Chris Mackett; 3. Dave Hammond. Upright: 1. Tim Curnock; 2. Mike Dowling; 3. Graeme Brown. GT140: 1. Shaun Harvey; 2. Glyn Stanton; 3. Kevin Bundock.

500cc Sidecars: 1. Josh Goodwin/Liam Brown; 2. Shaun Hughes/Louis Bennett; 3. James Hogg/Scott Goodwin. 1000cc Sidecars: 1. Tom Cossar/Wayne Rickards; 2. Paul Whitelam/Liam Brown; 3. Kieran Hicks/Kieron Ivy.