JUNIOR sports stars from around the county were rewarded for their achievements during 2018 at the Herefordshire Junior Sports Awards.

The annual awards night recognised individual athletes, teams, volunteers, primary schools and coaches who have performed well over the last 12 months.

Taking the Male Sports Achiever of the Year honour was athlete Will Lovejoy while pentathlete Zara Beaumont of Hereford Cathedral School won the honour of Female Sports Achiever.

Lovejoy has had a successful season on the track taking numerous victories in the Welsh under-15 league and Welsh Championships over 100 metres, 200 metres and 300 metres distances.

Meanwhile Marcus Powell (Dynamix Trampoline Club) took a highly commended award in the category.

The Female Sports Achiever Award went to Zara Beaumon (Hereford Cathedral School) who gained a personal best and broke the Independent Association of Prep Schools national record when she swam to glory in the under-11 50 metres breaststroke competition.

In the Primary School Physical Education Award category the winner was Riverside Primary School with a highly commended going to Colwall C of E Primary School.

Meanwhile the Junior Team of the Year award went to the City of Hereford Swimming Club girls age category 14 to 16 4x200 metres freestyle team.

A highly commended award went to both Hereford & County Athletics Club Junior Squad and Hereford Rowing Club juniors aged 14 to 15 squad.

Wesfields' Jake Bevan won the Junior Volunteer of the Year award for his work with the club's social media and recording matches.

Hereford Rowing Club's Nigel Fraser was given the Coaching of Juniors Award for his work with the club's youngsters.

In the same category Darren Braithwaite (Hereford Futsal Club) won a highly commended award.

Rising golf star Morgan Radziejowski won the Hereford Times Ted Woodriffe Award and Herefordshire Sport Secretary Bryan White was given a special award for 40 years voluntary service with the charity.