A NUMBER of wins were achieved by Hereford & County Athletics Club as they hosted the 2017 Les Davies Trophy.

Molly Smith, competing in the Under-13 girls category, set a new league record with a throw of 20.58m in the discus, as well as winning the Bill Morgan Cup for outstanding female performance of the day.

Other winners were Eva Tyler in the 100m, 200m and long jump, Leah Ellis (70m hurdles), Charlotte Colbert (javelin), Maisie Thomas (high jump), Darcie Jones (200m and long jump), Lily Fennessy (javelin and discus), Alex Redding (100m) and Will Lovejoy (800m and long jump).

Over the course of the day, five league records were broken in the pole vault, discus, long jump, 1k walk and 4x100m relay.

The relays saw a thrilling finale, with many close finishes.

The under-13 girls team of Elizabeth Williams, Colbert, Ellis and Tyler won their race.

The Hereford squad took fourth place overall, just five points behind Newport, with Rhymney Valley AC taking the win and the Les Davies Trophy.