THE Jewson Herefordshire Sunday League are taking steps to stamp out unnecessary postponements.

Delegates voted unanimously at the annual meeting for a new rule whereby any team failing to fulfil a fixture would not only be fined but would also lose three points from their total.

League chairman Steve Willmot said that the management committee were determined that the practice of calling off games or simply not travelling on the day of game would be drastically reduced next season.

And the rule change came with a warning.

"Teams were generally well run, although the management committee and officers had to spend a lot of time dealing with three or four clubs who were not well organised and who called off far too many matches for a variety of reasons," said Willmot.

"None of these teams are being allowed back into the league for the forthcoming season."

Similar rules are being introduced by the Hereford Times Herefordshire League and already exist in the HGTA and Stirling Suzuki Herefordshire Junior League.

Willmot also delivered a warning to players and spectators to produce better behaviour.

"The league continues to struggle with a shortage of referees caused largely by foul and abusive language being used at them by players and spectators," he said.

"The HFA will continue to deal very firmly with any players or spectators who are found guilty of these offences next season when enhanced penalties are likely to be imposed."

The league will be at the same strength for 2007-8 as in 2006-7 as five new applicants replace teams which have withdrawn or not re-entered.

Officers: president, Andrew Morris; chairman, Steve Willmot, vice-chairman, Dave Jones; acting secretary, Dave Jones; treasurer, Mark Bevan; referees' appointments secretary, Peter West; life members, Dave Jones, Jim Lambert, Val Lambert, Trevor Morris, Peter West, Steve Willmott; management committee, John Bufton, James Lambert, Keith Semple, Paul Sharp, Michael Shaw, Mike Best; HFA representative, Jim Lambert; HRA representative, Tony Baker.

AWARD WINNERS Cups - Wye Guild, Carlsberg; Premier, Marden; Division 1, Vaga; Division 2, Sinkum; Shelton, Longtown.

Leagues - Premier, Marden; Division 1, Taylor Lane; Division 2 South, Sinkum; Division 2 North, Bell.

Others - Fair play, Dawley; best secretaries, Keith Eckley (Holmer) and Doug Hill (Richards Castle).

Top Scorers - Premier, Stuart New (Marden); Division 1, Jamie Laurent (Longtown); Division 2 North, Stephen Cuss (Bulmers); Division 2 South, Terry Williams (Sinkum).

LEAGUE CONSTITUTION Premier Division: Bar Spirit, Barrels, Belmont, Longtown, Marden, Re-Rack, Taylor Lane, Vaga, Woolhope.

Division 1: Bandele's Dream, Bell, Exchange, HWX, Hay St Mary's, K's Sinkum, Orcop, Pencombe, Presidents, Richards Castle, Vaga Colts.

Division 2 North: Bromyard Colts, Crown Inn, Dynamo Hopole, Heart of Oak, Maidenhead, Moorfields, Orleton, Shobdon, Toros, Wigmore.

Division 2 South: Brewers, Bulmers, Clehonger Miners, Club RBL, Dawley, Holmer, Karlo's, Polska, Rapid Moorfields, Whitecross.