DEBENHAMS in Hereford will reopen for its final closing down sale when the coronavirus lockdown eases on Monday.

But by May 15, the Old Market Shopping Centre store will permanently close, the public relations firm representing Debenhams said.

It comes after online fashion retailer Boohoo confirmed it had bought the Debenhams brand for £55 million, and would relaunch the department store as an online-only operation.


Bosses said the deal would not include saving Debenhams' stores, and they would close for good as part of a structured winding down of the business, meaning 12,000 jobs were at risk.

On Thursday, Debenhams confirmed its stores in England and Wales would reopen on April 12, following the latest Government guidance, to complete its final closing down sale.

Hereford Times: Debenhams, in Hereford's Old Market Shopping Centre. Picture: Rob DaviesDebenhams, in Hereford's Old Market Shopping Centre. Picture: Rob Davies

The sale will offer up to 70 per cent off fashion and home products, and up to 50 per cent off beauty and fragrance lines.

The stores reopening next week will be part of Debenhams' final stock liquidation process and it will continue to trade for a limited number of weeks until the stock in the stores is fully cleared.

The stores will start to close permanently from May 2, with the stock clearance completed and final stores expected to close by May 15.


A spokesperson for Debenhams said: "This is the last chance for customers in England and Wales to visit their local Debenhams before sadly our stores close for good.

"We will be reopening with a fantastic range of offers and discounts across all of our customers' favourite brands and products.

"Stocks are limited and expected to sell out quickly so customers should visit their nearest store quickly to avoid disappointment.

"We are very grateful for the efforts of our staff who have worked so hard throughout the most difficult of circumstances to keep the business trading."

Full list of Debenhams stores reopening on April 12


  • Banbury
  • Barrow
  • Basildon
  • Basingstoke
  • Bath
  • Bedford
  • Beverley
  • Birmingham
  • Blackburn
  • Blackpool
  • Bolton
  • Bournemouth
  • Bradford
  • Brighton
  • Bristol
  • Bromley
  • Bury
  • Bury St Edmunds
  • Cambridge
  • Carlisle
  • Chelmsford
  • Cheshire Oaks
  • Chester
  • Chesterfield
  • Colchester
  • Coventry
  • Crawley
  • Derby
  • Doncaster
  • Exeter
  • Fareham
  • Gloucester
  • Gravesend
  • Guildford
  • Hanley
  • Harrow
  • Hastings
  • Hemel
  • Hereford
  • Hounslow
  • Hull
  • Ilford
  • Ipswich
  • Lakeside
  • Leeds
  • Lichfield
  • Lincoln
  • Liverpool
  • Luton
  • Manchester
  • Mansfield
  • Meadowhall
  • Merryhill
  • Middlesbrough
  • Newbury
  • Newcastle
  • Northampton
  • Norwich
  • Nottingham
  • Nuneaton
  • Oldham
  • Plymouth
  • Preston
  • Redditch
  • Romford
  • Scarborough
  • Scunthorpe
  • Sheffield
  • Southend
  • Stevenage
  • Stockport
  • Sunderland
  • Sutton
  • Taunton
  • Telford
  • Torquay
  • Trafford Centre
  • Uxbridge
  • Wakefield
  • Walsall
  • Warrington
  • Westwood Cross
  • White Rose
  • Wigan
  • Winchester
  • Woking
  • Workington
  • Worthing
  • York Monks Cross


  • Bangor
  • Cardiff
  • Carmarthen
  • Llandudno
  • Llanelli
  • Newport
  • Swansea
  • Wrexham