The hospitality industry, an essential part of Herefordshire's food and farming landscape, is finally poised to re-open ... and we want to make sure that our favourite cafes, tearooms and restaurants are firmly back in business and ready to celebrate their achievements by entering the Food and Farming Awards.

To ensure that everyone, not just those who've managed to operate on a limited basis through repeated lockdowns, has time to enter, we're extending the deadline for entries to all categories of the Hereford Times Food and Farming Awards to Friday, April 30. 

The Awards are a celebration of the multi-faceted nature of our agricultural landscape – the dedication, professionalism and innovation of every business that revolves around the food we eat - from field to fork.

So whether you’re a farmer dedicated to rearing or growing our food, a producer committed to creating the best food and drink from that local produce, or a restaurant, café or tearoom delivering the best of Herefordshire on a plate, what could be better than an award recognising your commitment, skill and talent, especially in a year that’s been anything but easy?

Agriculture is the biggest industry in Herefordshire and has shaped the landscape and the personality of a county in which around a quarter of all businesses are in the agricultural, forestry or fishing sectors.

It has also given rise to a thriving hospitality industry, one in which we are spoiled for choice when deciding where to eat out and enjoy the very best of what the farming community produces.

This year’s event, taking place online on June 17, hosted by TV personality Kate Bliss, will be bigger and better than ever. It has been expanded to incorporate and recognise those businesses that make such great use of the wealth of produce grown in Herefordshire – with restaurants, cafes and tea shops, food and drink producers and local food retailers joining the categories in line for awards.

So if there is someone you feel deserves to be recognised for their achievements – their dedication, professionalism or innovation – visit and complete the online form to make a nomination.

Award categories are:

  • Cattle Farmer
  • Poultry Farmer
  • Arable/Fruit or Hop farmer
  • Family-run farm or Smallholding
  • Farm Conservation and Diversification
  • Best Farm Shop
  • Best Local Food Retailer
  • Best Dairy Producer
  • Best Food Producer (excluding dairy)
  • Best Drinks Producer
  • Best restaurant
  • Best cafe or tearoom