BORIS Johnson has announced a three-tier approach to coronavirus restrictions with all of England put into medium, high and very high risk categories.

The Prime Minister set out the simplified and standardised system in a bid to stem the surge in Covid-19 cases earlier today.

Here is a breakdown of the areas under each level of the new alert system.

Very high: Pubs and bars will be forced to close and “social mixing” indoors and in private gardens will be banned at the minimum. Groups of up to six people could still be permitted to meet outside in public spaces.

Liverpool City Region
– Liverpool
– Knowsley
– Wirral
– St Helens
– Sefton
– Halton


All mixing between households and support bubbles will be prohibited indoors. Meetings of up to six people will be allowed outdoors in public spaces and private gardens.

– Cheshire West and Chester
– Cheshire East

Greater Manchester
– Manchester
– Bolton
– Bury
– Stockport
– Tameside
– Trafford
– Wigan
– Salford
– Rochdale
– Oldham

– Warrington

– High Peak – the wards of: Tintwistle, Padfield, Dinting, St John’s, Old Glossop, Whitfield, Simmondley, Gamesley, Howard Town, Hadfield South and Hadfield North

– Lancashire
– Blackpool
– Preston
– Blackburn with Darwen
– Burnley

West Yorkshire
– Leeds
– Bradford
– Kirklees
– Calderdale
– Wakefield

South Yorkshire
– Barnsley
– Rotherham
– Doncaster
– Sheffield

North East
– Newcastle
– South Tyneside
– North Tyneside
– Gateshead
– Sunderland
– Durham
– Northumberland

Tees Valley
– Middlesbrough
– Redcar and Cleveland
– Stockton-on-Tees
– Darlington
– Hartlepool

West Midlands
– Birmingham
– Sandwell
– Solihull
– Wolverhampton
– Walsall

– Leicester
– Oadby and Wigston

– Nottinghamshire
– Nottingham City

Medium: The “rule of six” preventing most gatherings of more than six people indoors or outdoors, the 10pm curfew on pubs and restaurants and other existing national measures will continue to apply.

All other areas in England.