HEREFORDSHIRE driver Mike Turpin has won the Midland Hill Climb Championship for the fourth time.

Turpin, from Allensmore, took the title at the final meeting of the season at Loton Park, near Shrewsbury when he scored his tenth class win in his Martin Bowyer powered 2.2 litre supercharged Vauxhall VX220 car.

The former British Rallycross champion won every round of the championship in his class this year and as a result has completed a hat trick of championship wins to follow on from his first title in 2012.

Turpin’s championship win caps a fine year for local drivers with Orleton’s Scott Moran winning his sixth British Hillclimb title.

Having already wrapped up the title, Moran won the penultimate round of the championship at Loton Park and in an astonishing last round run off, he finished third, one hundredth of a second behind Will Hall who in turn was a hundredth of a second behind final round winner Wallace Menzies.

Roger Moran and Stuart Ridge from Ross-on-Wye were also class winners at the Loton event.