BURGHILL Valley Golf Club are the first Herefordshire team in 64 years to win the Hargrove Trophy.

The club used nine of their members to form their squad, but the majority of the foursome matchplay matches were played by Matt and Phil Harrison, Rich Lloyd and Peta Lockett and Ed Morley and Kris Jones.

The competition started last October when Burghill narrowly beat Ludlow by two holes.

A 6-0 win against Kington's 'B' side then followed before the Wrekin were beaten by six holes.

Shifnal were then overcome in the semi-finals by 4.5 to 1.5, which set up a final against Shrewsbury based Hawkstone Park.

The original tie was postponed due to bad weather, resulting in the rearranged match taking place last weekend.

After winning 2-1 win at home, Burghill travelled to Hawkstone Park and sealed the win with a 3-0 victory.

Burghill also made the final two seasons ago, but on that occasion they lost to Bridgnorth.