RHYS Park recorded a new course record time as Wye Valley Runners host a New Year's 10k run.

The Cheltenham and County Harriers member dominated from start to finish and finished in a time of 31 minutes 50 seconds.

A total of 200 people took part in the race that started on the Great Western Way, with Park a minute-and-a-half ahead of club mate Dan Owen.

Another Cheltenham athlete – Dan King – finishing third.

The trio are all from Hereford, but train over in Gloucestershire.

Only 13 seconds behind King was veteran Hereford Couriers star Barry Reynolds, who put in a strong performance.

In the women's race, a return to home soil for Clara Evans saw her ease home in a comfortable 38.29.

Chasing athlete Roxanne Jones of Hereford Couriers had some ground to make up and did well to finish in a fast time of 41.27 to take second place, with visiting runner Myshola Kirkham of Coventry taking third.

Wye Valley Runners flew the flag with the improving Clare Sims in fourth place with a time of 41.52.

The Cheltenham men’s team easily claimed the team prize with Hereford Couriers taking the women's team team trophy.

Meanwhile, former race director Mike Shaw made a welcome return from a serious car crash and was presented with the veterans prize for the first runner over 65 by Wye Valley Runners club president Harry Franklin.

Next up in the Wye Valley race calendar is the infamous Muddy Woody 6.

The tough six-mile race around the hills and mud of Haugh Woods is scheduled for Sunday, February 11.

A few extra places have been added after unprecedented demand.

For details, visit wyevalleyrunners.co.uk.

New Year's 10k results; men: 1 Rhys Park (Cheltenham and County Harriers) 31.50, 2 Dan Owen (Cheltenham and County Harriers) 33.21, 3 Daniel King (Cheltenham and County Harriers) 33.38; V/40: Jamie Shingler (Ludlow Runners) 37.00; V/45: Barry Reynolds (Hereford Couriers) 33.51; V/50: Richie Richards (Hereford Couriers) 40.07; V/55: Berry Clifford (Ledbury & District Harriers) 38.45; V/60: Paul Millsom (Vegan Runners) 44.00; V/65: Mike Shaw (Wye Valley Runners) 48.24; V/70: Andy Houghton (Madsat Raft Team) 48.23.

Ladies Awards: 1 Clara Evans (Cardiff AC) 38.29, 2 Roxanne Jones (Hereford Couriers) 41.27, 3 Myshola Kirkham (Coventry Godiva Harriers) 41.30; V/35: Myshola Kirkham ( Coventry Godiva Harriers) 41.30; V/40: Claire Sims (Wye Valley Runners) 41.52; V/45: Ruth Johnston (Madsat Raft Team) 46.40; V/50: Ann Pritchard (Wye Valley Runners) 49.28; V/55: Nicola Turvey (Croft Ambrey AC) 49.07; V/60: Jan Edwards (Wye Valley Runners) 51.16; V/65: Liz Bowers (Croft Ambrey AC) 47.24.