STUART Robinson and Clara Evans secured the top places as Wye Valley Runners once again staged a New Year race.

The 33rd 10km event attracted nearly 200 runners from Herefordshire and beyond and was raced in torrential rain.

In an exciting finish to the men's race, Salford Harriers' Robinson managed to claim a narrow victory over Elliot Taylor of Hereford Couriers in a time of 33 minutes.

Pontypridd Roadents' Paul Graham, who won last year's race, finished third a time of 34.01.

Evans was the convincing winner of the ladies race for the second year running, finishing three minutes ahead of second placed Tessa Robinson (Salford) Harriers.

Emma Robinson, of Worcester Athletics Club, was third.

Hereford Couriers, consisting of Eliot Taylor, Charlie Jones and Tom Grady, took the men's team award, while the Wye Valley Runners team of Kate Owen, Laura Tootell and Danca Machackova took the ladies' prize.

A total of 167 runners completed the course in under one hour, while the Alex Moore Memorial Trophy was awarded to Wye Valley Runners' Steven Flowers.

A collection was also made for the Litter Princess Trust, which raised £80.

Men’s Awards: 1 Stuart Robinson (Salford Harriers) 33.00, 2 Eliot Taylor (Hereford Couriers) 33.05, 3 Paul Graham (Pontypridd Roadents) 34.01; V/40: Ian Weir (Victoria Park Harriers) 39.15; V/45: Jon Newey (Malvern Joggers) 38.07; V/50: Richie Richards (Hereford Couriers) 39.09; V/55: Ian Smith (Forest of Dean AC) 38.47; V/60: Reginald Rudd (ASC Konstanz) 44.53; V/65: Keith Young (Ghost Runners) 50.44; V/70: Alan Harry (Hay Hotfooters) 64.46.

Ladies Awards: 1 Clara Evans (Pontypridd Roadents) 35.46, 2 Tessa Robinson (Salford Harriers) 38.53, 3 Emma Robertson (Worcester AC) 40.42; V/35: Tessa Robinson ( Salford Harriers) 38.53; V/40: Laura Tootell (Wye Valley Runners) 42.53; V/45: Sheryl Evans (Hereford Couriers) 44.55; V/50: Gunvor Troelsen (Builth & District Runners) 51.131; V/55: Julie Caseley (Malvern Joggers) 50.47; V/60: Sally Vaughan (Unattached) 63.04.