WYE Valley Runners were deservedly crowned champions of the 2016 Herefordshire Summer Off Road League, while Tim Iveson and Gemma Mallett collected the individual honours.

Shodbon Court, courtesy of Corbett Farms Ltd, hosted the final event of the four-race series on a scenic but challenging five-and-a-quarter mile two lap course over varied terrain.

Reigning champion Iveson, of Builth RC and 2014 champion Elliot Taylor battled it out to be named this year's champion.

The pair established an early and commanding lead as they matched each other stride for stride to break away from the pack.

However, Iveson’s second lap dominance on the two steep ascents in the arboretum section proved too much for Taylor, and Iveson cruised down the tree lined avenue from Shobdon Arches to record his third successive victory and celebrate retaining his title.

Taylor, of Hereford Couriers, finished just 16 seconds adrift in a valiant second place with Ludlow Runners' Jamie Shingler in third.

Mallett, meanwhile, continued her prolific form in the women’s competition following a recent string of impressive performances.

The Croft Ambrey runner stormed to 19th place in the overall race, well over a minute clear of her nearest rival, registering a clean sweep of victories in the league and registering her first championship.

Ludlow’s Amy Fulford hung on for a battling second place, with winter cross country league champion Nicola Davies completing the top top three.

Teams are comprised of four men and two women; Wye Valley’s strength in depth was evident as they recorded their fourth straight race victory.

This winning team were: Christian Jones in sixth, Liam Grice (eighth), Jeremy Jehan (ninth) and David Klotz (10th), bolstered by Gintare Gaigaliene in 27th and 2015 women's champion Laura Tootell in 36th. Wye Valley won their fourth consecutive team title by a huge margin of 195 points, rounding off another successful season.

Croft Ambrey finished second overall with the Wye Valley 'B' squad in third.

The Winter Cross Country League will commence in October, with dates and venues to be announced soon.