THE wet weather failed to dampen the spirits of the 222 runners that started the year with a 10km run.

Paul Graham and Clara Evans of Pontypridd Roadents were in winning form to secure top places in the men’s and ladies' races with times of 34.32 and 36.20 respectively.

In an exciting finish to the men’s race, Graham managed to secure a narrow victory over Eliot Taylor of Hereford Couriers 34.39 and Thomas Davies of Team Bath Athletic Club 34.47. Gabriel Kay of Brecon AC was first junior for the second year running finishing in fourth place overall in an excellent time of 35.01

Evans was a convincing winner of the ladies race, finishing almost two minutes ahead of second place Hannah Jarvis of Dorking and Mole Valley AC (38.18).

Holly Weir of Victoria Park Harriers was third in a time of 42.19.

Hereford Couriers took the men’s team award, winning men were Eliot Taylor, Charlie Jones and Russel James. Wye Valley Runners took the ladies team prize , winning ladies were Gintare Gaigalienne, Johanne Morgan- Rolfe and Kylie Mansfield.

The Alex Moore Memorial trophy was awarded to Gintare Gaigalienne of Wye Valley Runners.

The event was organised by Wye Valley Runners and a collection was made for their charity of the year, Longtown Mountain Rescue.

There was also a tree planting ceremony to celebrate Wye Valley Runners club chairman Harry Franklin’s 80th birthday and in recognition of his distinguished service to the club.

Men’s Awards: 1 Paul Graham (Pontypridd Roadents) 34.32, 2 Eliot Taylor (Hereford Couriers) 34.39, 3 Thomas Davies (Team Bath Athletics Club) 34.47; Junior: Gabriel Kay (Brecon AC) 35.01; V/40: Jeremy Jehan (Wye Valley Runners) 36.41; V/45: Russell James (Hereford Couriers) 36.43; V/50: Dave Williams (Hereford Couriers) 40.13; V/55: Ian Smith (Forest of Dean A.C.) 38.34; V/60: Adrian Jones (Unattached) 48.35; V/65: Andy Houghton (Tavistock AC) 45.45; V/70: Christopher Harrison (Unattached) 53.40.

Ladies Awards: 1 Clara Evans (Pontypridd Roadents) 36.20; 2 Hannah Jarvis (Dorking and Mole Valley AC) 38.18; 3 Holly Weir (Victoria Park Harriers) 42.19; V/35 Gintare Gaigalienne (Wye Valley Runners) 42.37; V/40: Nicola Emerson (Wye Valley Runners) 45.51; V/45: Johanne Morgan-Rolfe (Wye Valley Runners) 43.42; V/50: Nikki Childs (Wye Valley Runners) 47.01; V/55: Julie Caseley (Malvern Joggers) 51.28; V/60: Jan Edwards (Wye Valley Runners) 49.26.