HEREFORDSHIRE Short Mat Bowling Association (HSMBA) held its first since April 2019 which was held earlier this month at the Larruperz Centre in Ross-on-Wye.

This was an opportunity for bowlers from across the county to celebrate their achievements from both the 2019/20 and 2021/22 seasons.

The evening was well attended by members from nine clubs, with the presentation of awards being followed by a ploughman’s supper and a raffle.

HSMBA chairman Tim Rigden took on the role of master of ceremonies and paid tribute to the association’s late former chairman Ian Park, who had a new trophy donated to the association by wife Pam dedicated in his honour.

Other big winners on the night included Joe Loveys (Gorsley Chapel), John Mills (Woolhope) and Shirley Cox (Woolhope), each of whom, along with Kate Williams (Ross), won the achievement award for winning the counties first ever national title.

Mill won his first county singles title, defeating Dave Watkins (Ross) in the final.

The county over-55 pairs was won by Claire Herbert and Peter Wright (Ross) with Peter Lewis (Fownhope) and Tony Vitale (Ross) securing the runners-up spot.

The Lea won the summer league with Ross and Woolhope tied for the runners-up spot. 

It has been decided that the 2022-23 winter league will be a two-mat triples format. This will now be the format for the winter league going forwards.

For general information concerning the HSMBA email their chairman at