A GRITTY display from Brockhampton saw them become the Herefordshire primary schools football champions.

The event held at Wyeside saw 28 schools take part in the tournament held in glorious weather, only a day after torrential rain covered the county.

Split into seven groups, there were lots of closely fought games with many of the groups being decided by goal difference.

In the Bowl competition Burghill claimed the prize with a narrow victory over Burley Gate.

Meanwhile in the Plate competition it was Holmer who defeated Wigmore.

In the Cup competition, a lot of the smaller schools made great progress upsetting some of the bigger city schools along the way.

In the semi-finals, eventual champions Brockhampton surrendered a two goal advantage over HCJS in the final minute only to claim victory with an extra-time goal.

Whilst in the other semi final, Kingsland, who had been impressive all day, defeated a strongly fancied Ledbury side.

In the final, Brockhampton took the lead and defended gallantly as Kingsland threw everything at them to grab an equaliser but it was not to be, leaving the side from the border to claim the cup for the very first time.


Cup Competition


Cradley 0 – 1 Brockhampton

Kingsland 4 – 0 Stoke Prior

HCJS 0 – 0 Hampton Dene (HCJS on pens)

Ledbury 2 – 1 St Paul’s


Brockhampton 3 – 2 HCJS AET

Ledbury 0 – 1 Kingsland


Kingsland 0 – 1 Brockhampton

Plate competition


Wigmore 0 – 0 Staunton (Wigmore on pens)

Bosbury 4 – 0 Gorsley Goffs

Weobley 2 – 0 Madley

Holmer 4 – 0 Wigmore “B”


Bosbury 1 – 5 Holmer

Wigmore 2 – 0 Weobley


Holmer 1 – 0 Wigmore

Bowl competition


Burghill 1 – 0 St Joseph’s

Lea 0 – 0 Burley Gate (BG on pens)


Burghill 1 – 0 Burley Gate