HEREFORDSHIRE will play in the Western Division under proposals for the Minor Counties cricket to have a new look from 2020.

Under the current proposals the 10-team divisions will be split into two groups of five with bordering Shropshire and Wales also in the Western Division.

The fifth county in each of the regional First Division are set to be relegated and replaced by the respective Division Two winners.

The MCCA final would now be between the Division One East and Division One West winners.

It will also mean a drop in three-day matches from six to four per season, while offering an increase in Twenty20 games.

There is planned to be an increase in the number of matches in the 50-over Minor Counties Trophy, by reverting from a straight knockout tournament to the old group format with quarter-finals and semi-finals.

The Minor Counties T20 would be retained.

The competition will also have a new name and would become the National Counties Cricket Association.

The changes are set to be officially rubber-stamped at the Minor Counties' next meeting.