THE ACHIEVEMENTS of Herefordshire Motor Club members were recognised at their annual awards night recently.

President Robert Andrews assisted by the Chairlady Caroline Wilks made the presentations.

Receiving the Leominster MC&CC Challenge Trophy for overall best member was Sue Underwood. Chris Powell took the Weobley Challenge Cup for second best member, whilst third place and the Birley Challenge Trophy went to Caroline Wilks.

Ladies Challenge Cup for best lady was received by Pat Pugh, meanwhile second lady was Louise Roberts and the Diane Challenge Cup.

Steve Farrington picked up the Night Owl Trophy as best marshal. Next the best junior members were cousins Molly Pugh and Cole Pugh, whilst the best new members were Julian Gore and Charlotte Aubrey, respectively receiving the Tyro Trophy and the Yearling Challenge Trophy.

The Innes Ireland Hardluck Trophy went to Theo Bengry and Les Forsbrook in recognition of their unprovoked bad luck during the 2017 motorsport season.

Additionally, Steve Wilks received a Tough Luck award as he missed out on a Championship Class win in 2017 by a mere point. Jim Lewis was presented with the Skeff Challenge Trophy for his success as a co-driver in the BTRDA and Welsh forestry rallying and Lewis also received the Clive Mapp Memorial Trophy (karting and bowling event).

To acknowledge finishing second overall in the Cotswold Rally Championship, Heather Phelps received the Paul Watkins Memorial Award. Meanwhile jointly collecting the Bengry Motors Challenge Cup for their individual results on Welsh stages rallies were Karen Phelps and Chris Powell, respectively as co-driver and driver; additionally, Powell took the Hi-Fi Trophy for best driver of a Peugeot/Talbot car.

Other drivers were also rewarded: with the Everstone Plate for best Ford driver to Nigel Smith; The Barbara Greenhous Perpetual Challenge Trophy to Phil Skipp for best Vauxhall/Opel driver; the HA Saunders Award going to Liam Rollings for best performance in an Austin Rover; Rollings also received the Benzole Challenge Trophy for best performance on Club autotests.

The Malcolm Gibbs Trophy for best performance on off-road events recognising his achievements in MSA and BTRDA autotest events was awarded to John Moffatt.

Brian Andrews would receive the Wheeler & Conu Challenge Wheel as best driver on club organised events.

Trophies for the 2017/2018 Navigational Scatter Series were also awarded: Champions : Driver - Mark Jones / Navigator - James Leighton; Best Experts: Driver - Brian Andrews / Navigator - Matt Jones; Best Novices : Driver - Charlie Pennington / Navigator - Jon Taylor; Best Beginners : Driver - Paul Bevan / Navigator - Adrian Gwynne

Finally, the trophy for furthering the name of the motor club in motorsport went collectively to the group of marshals who volunteered as time-keepers on the Wales Rally GB and ran the Service Area at Leominster for the Roger Albert Clark Rally - The Hall's Pork Shop Trophy being presented below to those who attended the function.