Knighton and District community support project held its AGM at the community centre, chaired by Knighton’s mayor, Councillor Ken Harris. Officers were elected including new chairman Neil King, vice chairman Roy Williams and secretary Elaine Evans. The 2010 volunteer award winner was presented by the guest speaker, Assembly Member kirsty Williams, to Mike Pritchard. The award this year was sponsored by Knighton Chamber of Trade. Kirsty thanked all the people who work so hard to make the project work including the volunteers, officers and trustees, and added: “I don’t believe Britain is broken because there are so many people who work in our society to help their communities. This group is doing everything possible to raise extra funds and I am amazed to hear how much the shop has made.”