A NEW Canon Precentor is to be welcomed to Hereford Cathedral.

The Rev. Andrew Piper, formerly team rector of Worth Team Ministry for the Diocese of Chichester, will be installed to the post on Wednesday, March 9. His appointment is amongst several in the county for the Diocese of Hereford.

Prebendary Kay Garlick has been appointed Priest-in-Charge of Much Birch with Little Birch, Much Dewchurch, Llanwarne and Llandinabo, where she was a non-stipendiary curate. She also serves King's Caple and Sellack and was licensed by the Bishop of Hereford, the Rt Rev. John Oliver, on Saturday, January 11.

The Bishop has instituted the Rev. Jimmy Morrison as incumbent of the parishes of Burghill and Stretton Sugwas, where he was Priest-in-Charge. He will remain as Priest-in-Charge of Pipe-cum-Lyde.

The Rev. Peter Massey will be resigning from his post as non-stipendiary curate at Holmer with Huntington and will be licensed as non-stipendiary curate at St Peter with St Owen and St James by the Bishop on January 19.

Retiring from the diocese is Canon Paul Iles, Precentor of Hereford Cathedral, Prebendary Paul Barnes, the rector of Cusop, Bredwardine, Brobury, Clifford, Dorstone, Hardwicke, Moccas and Preston-on-Wye and the Rev. Salli Vandyck, non-stipendiary curate in the Ross-on-Wye Team Ministry.

The Diocese has named eight Rural Deans in the Hereford Archdeaconry, appointed until September 31, 2005.


Re-elected are the Rev. Dr Christopher Fletcher, Bromyard Deanery, the Rev. David Bowen, Hereford Deanery and the Rev. Canon Peter Swain for the Leominster Deanery.

Newly appointed are Prebendary James Butterworth, Abbeydore Deanery, the Rev. Andrew Mottram, Hereford City Deanery, the Rev. Paul Tarling, Kington and Weobley Deanery, the Rev. Michael Vockins OBE, Ledbury Deanery and the Rev. John Hunnisett for the Ross and Archenfield Deanery.