CRICKET CLUB -- The season has now been completed and the overall results for the season showed that the club played eight matches, won three and lost five. Two matches were cancelled as a result of bad weather. In the final matches, the game against Clee Hill was lost by 134 runs. Clee Hill batted first and scored 276. This is the highest score recorded against Eardisland. Young players Luke and Matti Jones and Sam Gittoes bowled and fielded exceptionally well, captain Will Hicks took 3-40, Paul Selfe took 3-26. However, in reply Eardisland batted with great resolve but lost wickets at regular intervals. Will Hicks once again played a phenomenal innings. He scored all round the wicket and was finally out for a thrilling and brilliant 92. This was perhaps the finest innings ever played for Eardisland. The match against Clyro was closer but also ended in defeat. Clyro, batted first and scored 139. Alasdair Munn bowling spin, took 3-1, with two fine stumpings by his father Alan. Greg Taylor also bowled well and took 3-11; Heath Fletcher, playing in his first match for Eardisland, took 2-8. Once again the fielding was of a very high standard and difficult catches were held. In reply Eardisland scored 76-9, batting out the 30 overs. Heath Fletcher scored 18, Paul Selfe 14 and Greg Taylor 9. The match was lost by 63 runs. The annual match between two local teams for the Eardisland Bat ended in victory for the Howard Davies Invitation Team. The event was marked by an excellent tea, provided by the History Group, organised by Gill Richards and Cathy Dyer. The bar and BBQ was organised by Paul at the White Swan. We are grateful to everyone who participated and helped in the organisation of the event. The presentation of the Eardisland Bat and other trophies and awards will take place in the autumn at a time to be announced.

SHOW -- The Eardisland Show took place this year for the first time since 1956. Esther Simpson, the organiser, was delighted to receive over 200 entries for the competitions. The winners of the trophies were: Section 1: Cookery: WI Salver Joyce Price; Section 2: Wine: Pat Roche and Tracie Preece; Section 3: Handicraft: Millennium Trophy: Margaret Roberts; Section 4: Photography Esther Simpson; Art: Sally Swingewood; Section 5: Floral Art: Liz Mitchell; Section 6: Horticulture: Roy Griffiths; Harry Hope Trophy: Dorothy Brown; Section 7: 4-6 yrs: Jacob Viner; 8-11yrs: Georgia Evans: 11-16 yrs: Katherine Thomas; Overall Winner: Simpson Trophy Liz Mitchell. It was supported by large numbers of people. Thanks are due also to all those who assisted with the organisation of the event.