HEREFORDSHIRE will have two new seats at the next general election. The Boundary Commission has backed changing the names of the county's two present parliamentary constituencies to better reflect their make-up.

The Hereford seat becomes Hereford and South Herefordshire. Leominster is renamed North Herefordshire.

Cases for change were put at a public inquiry earlier this year and are backed by both county MPs with no apparent objection from either electorate.

In evidence, Bill Wiggin, MP for Leominster, said voters in Bromyard, Kington and Ledbury felt 'disenfranchised' by the seat's present name. Paul Keetch, MP for Hereford, said the same for his current constituency.

Of the three wards where boundaries blurred the Commission has given Old Gore to the new North Herefordshire seat while Stoney Street and Golden Valley North and Golden Valley South go to Hereford and South Herefordshire.

The revised constituencies are:

HEREFORD AND SOUTH HEREFORDSHIRE - Aylestone, Belmont, Central, Golden Valley North, Golden Valley South, Hollington, Kerne Bridge, Llangarron, Penyard, Pontrilas, Ross-on-Wye East, Ross-on-Wye West, St Martin's and Hinton, St Nicholas, Stoney Street, Three Elms, Tupsley, Valletts.

NORTH HEREFORDSHIRE - Backbury, Bircher, Bringsty, Bromyard, Burghill, Holmer and Lyde, Castle, Credenhill, Frome, Golden Cross with Weobley, Hagley, Hampton Court, Hope End, Kington Town, Ledbury, Leominster North, Leominster South, Mortimer, Old Gore, Pembridge and Lyonshall with Titley, Sutton Walls, Upton, Wormsley Ridge.