A RESHUFFLE of Herefordshire Council's Cabinet has been announced, with some councillors taking up new roles.

Leader of Herefordshire Council, coun David Hitchiner, today announced changes to Cabinet Member portfolios, which will take effect from August 1.

Councillor Pauline Crockett will step down from Cabinet due to personal reasons, but will continue her duties as a ward member.

Councillor Felicity Norman is the new Cabinet member for health and adult wellbeing, and Coun Jenny Bartlett will continue as Cabinet support member.

Coun Diana Toynbee’s children’s and family services portfolio returns to the full list of responsibilities which Coun Felicity Norman had when she had this portfolio, but with the addition of Coun Kath Hey who is appointed as an additional Cabinet support to support young people’s attainment, including post-16 education, training and skills development.

This additional support role is important to reflect the responsibilities that Coun Toynbee has concerning the improvement journey in children’s services and also the impact of the Covid-19 pandemic on young people and to ensure that the county’s education and skills are aligned and delivered effectively.

The new Cabinet will see the following councillors in each role.

Coun David Hitchiner - leader of herefordshire council / corporate strategy and budget

Coun Liz Harvey – deputy leader of herefordshire council / finance, corporate services and planning

Coun Diana Toynbee - children’s and family services, and young people’s attainment

Coun Gemma Davies - commissioning, procurement and assets

Coun Ellie Chowns – environment and economy

Coun Felicity Norman - health and adult wellbeing

Coun John Harrington - infrastructure and transport

Coun Ange Tyler - housing, regulatory services and community safety