FOUR members of the Herefordshire Federation of Young Farmers Clubs will be off on their travels after taking part in a national selection day.

The National Federation of Young Farmers Clubs offers the chance of exciting trips, home stays and working exchanges to destinations around the world and the county quartet were picked for various trips at Leamington Spa on Saturday,

Hannah Mason from Teme Valley will be going to Northern Ireland, Rhiannon Probert, also from Teme Valley, will be taking park in a Scotland Homestay, Zoe Whittall from Eardisley will be travelling to Montana, while Liberty Perry from Lugg Valley will be taking part in the European rally as England team leader.

On a very busy weekend for HFYFC, Sunday saw members from all over the county and from all age-groups take part in various public speaking competitions.

Competitions included junior reading, where second place went to Dilwyn YFC, and top spot place was awarded to Eardisley YFC.

Eardisley and Dilwyn repeated their first and second place finishes with Lugg Valley taking third in a very high quality junior speaking competition.

And it was again Eardisley and Dilwyn in first and second respectively in a very competitive Intermediate Brainstrust.

Situations Vacant saw Dilwyn member Emily Horne take top spot with second place awarded to Ellie Layton from Craswall YFC, and Becka Westwood from Woolhope YFC in third.

Ellie Layton of Craswall clinched first place in the popular junior member of the year category with Emily Pritchard (Craswall) in second and Dilwyn duo Millie Jones and Zoe Bennett joint third.

Senior member of the year saw senior members answering tricky questions about their thoughts on the federation's future movement, and testing their knowledge and experience.

Eardisley's Zoe Whittall came first in very high-standard competition with Liberty Perry (Lugg Valley) and Bethan Anthony (Eardisley) second and third respectively.

The top two entries for each competition now go on to the West Midlands Area round in February next year.