BILL Wiggin’s seat of North Herefordshire could be carved up- if recommendations for boundary changes are passed by Parliament.

The final proposals for a reduction in UK parliamentary constituencies have been released by the Boundary Commission.

They outline the possibility of replacing the existing North Herefordshire seat with a new, larger cross-county constituency called Leominster and Ludlow.

The current Ludlow seat is held by Conservative MP Phillip Dunne, which could potentially see Wiggin and Dunne compete to be Tory candidate for the new Leominster and Ludlow patch.

Reacting to the final recommendations, Bill Wiggin said: “Most of all I am saddened by these proposals which will radically alter the constituency boundaries in Herefordshire.

“Like me, many of my constituents have expressed their views to the Boundary Commission, as proud Herefordians, we are disappointed that Herefordshire will be divided and a part added to Worcestershire, and a part to Shropshire.

“This is not a confirmed change yet as this Boundary Commission report will still need to be voted on and at this stage it is not clear that the Government has a majority which would be in favour of these proposals.”

The final recommendations were published on Monday and state that no changes have been made to the revised proposals for Herefordshire.

The potential Ludlow and Leominster seat includes parts of North Herefordshire, while Hereford and South Herefordshire, currently represented by Jesse Norman MP, looks set to remain largely unchanged but would see the addition of Backbury, parts of Credenhill, and Hagley wards from the current North Herefordshire constituency.

People in the east of the county would also see a change and many would be voting in a new “Ledbury and Malvern” seat which would include the wards of Bromyard, Bringsty, Bromyard West and Hampton wards.

A review boundary review was ordered in 2011 by David Cameron in a bid to equalise the number of electors in each constituency.

The changes would see the number of seats in the House of Commons reduced from 650 to 600, if implemented.