BILL Wiggin is to chair the parliamentary committee that puts other MPs onto committees.

Mr Wiggin, MP for North Herefordshire, has today been confirmed as Chair of the Committee of Selection.

The Committee of Selection’s role is to nominate MPs to serve on General Committees, which deal with Bills the Government wants to make law, and Select Committees scrutinising the work of the Government.

Like the Culture, Media and Sport Select Committee that fellow county MP Jesse Norman was elected chairman of this week.

As Chair of the Committee of Selection, Mr Wiggin will also sit on the Liaison Committee which questions the Prime Minister several times a year.

An opportunity Mr Wiggin said he was "looking forward to".

Confirming his appointment, Mr Wiggin congratulated Mr Norman on his election win and the chance that came with it to tackle issues over the county's mobile signals and internet connections.

 "I'm sure he will make an excellent Chair," said Mr Wiggin.