THE annual Ivor Cooper trophy, at Burghill Valley GC, has raised approaching £1,000 for St Michael’s Hospice in its final staging.

The trophy, which commemorates a former club member, has been played for the last six years and raised more than £3,000 for the hospice but is now being wound up after organiser Tom Williams moved from the area.

This year’s turnout of 56 was the best ever and players enjoyed a dry day and some excellent golf.

The top prize went to 16-handicapper Carl Jones whose score of 40 was two better than that achieved by runner-up Alan Watkins.

Geoff Davies took the prize for the longest drive and for nearest the pin on the third hole, with John Freeman nearest the pin on the 12th.

“I’m very grateful to Bill Harris, who has helped so much with the organisation of this year’s competition,” said Tom Williams. “My wife Angie, who is a nurse at St Michael’s Hospice, has also been a great support.”

Williams added that a cheque for £917.50 would be presented to the hospice, whose Dr Chris Lukakis was one of the guests, along with Hereford Times sports editor Richard Prime.

The trophy was handed over to Ivor Cooper’s widow Eileen.

q Burghill Valley GC, seniors’ section, Hall of Fame Stableford, overall winner: Roy Williams, who willl now go forward to the next round of this national competition; Division One: Roy Williams 36 pts, 2 Trevor Brookes 33, 3 Eddy Powell 33 points; Division Two: Dave Thomas 33 pts, 2 Mike Buffey 33, 3 Chris Furber 31.

Ladies’ section, bronze championship and club medal, Division One: 1 Marilyn Howard 76, 2 Pam Layton 77, Vicky Howells 78; Division Two: 1 Helen Green 71, 2 Jane Swan 75, Rosemary Snowzell 77; Division Three: 1 Jill Evans 73, 2 Melanie Harris, 3 Diane Shepherd 82.

Junior section, nine-hole stableford: 1 Oliver Green 20 pts (on c/b), 2 L Williams 20, 3 Tom Srtrangward 17.

q Grove GC: Seniors section stableford: 1 Tony Tavenor 18 pts, 2 Ron Preece 17 (on c/b), 3 Bill Bacon 17; nearest the pin: Tom Helme; birdie twos: Ron Preece, Don Davies.

Ladies’ section charity cup: 1 Elizabeth Sykes 38 pts, 2 Sue Price 34, 3 Clare Hadley 33, 4 Averil Magee 32.

Nine-hole Badger least putts competition: 1 Margaret Garland 16.

May Rose Spoon: June Bromage 38 pts.

q Belmont GC, club stableford competition: 1 Kevin Powell and Brian Stringer 71 pts, 2 Nick Hemmings and Rory James 67, 3 Colin Tolly and Lennie Andrews 64.

Captain’s Bell: 1 John Snead 43 pts, 2 Peter Wilcox 41, 3 Brian Stringer 40.

Seniors’ section Majors trophy, overall placings after two rounds: 1 Alan Shakesheff 70 pts, 2 Alex Quinn 65, 3 Eddie Probert 62.

Senior pairs open: 1 Geoff Foster and John Driscoll 45 pts, 2 Duncan Kennet Wise and Tom McHugh 45, 3 Tom Boswell and Ron Davies 43.

Tuesday stableford: 1 Barry Norton 40 pts, 2 Geoff Preece 37, 3 Dennis Pritchard 37.

Thursday stableford: 1 Ed Probert 41 pts, 2 Ian Caves 40, 3 John Driscoll 37.

q Kington GC, men’s section, Kildare Cup, winner: Nicky Preece 78-15-63; Division One: 1 Kelvin Alexander 74-6-68, 2 Graham Priday 74-5-69, 3 Ryan Hotchkiss 77-8-69; Division Two: 1 Tim Davies 79-13-66, 2 Kevin Barnes 80-10-70, 3 Gareth Jones 85-14-71; Division Three: 1 Geoff Smith 87-21-66, 2 Barry Wilson 83-16-67, 3 Titch Evans 91-19-72. Geoff Smith, Nicky Preece, Barry Wilson and Tim Davies will now represent Kington at Shifnal GC in the Chronicle Cup on August 3.

Wednesday night stableford, winner: Ricky Dyer 48 pts; Division One: 1 Ross Moore 33 pts, 2 Ryan Hotchkiss 32; Division 2: 1 Nigel Venables 34 pts, 2 Hayden Williams 33; Division Three: 1 Mark Freake 36 pts, 2 Adrian Taylor 33. Seniors’ section, May Medal, Division One: 1 R Davies-Jones 77-12-65, 2 R Williams 81-14-67, 3 Andrew Edey 81-9-72; Division Two: 1 S Arnold 96-20-76, 2 J James 94-18-76, 3 E Traylor 104-27-77.

q Ross GC’s ladies section travelled to the Worcestershire Golf Club for lady captain Jeannette Forrester’s away day where a Bowmaker competition was held. Results: 1 Gillian Clouder, Linda Gaiderman, Jackie Wheatstone; 2 Joyce Mackley, Joan Punnett, Wendy Harris.

Ross men’s ‘A’ team gained a comprehensive 6-0 win over Gloucester Golf and Country Club in their first game after promotion to the second tier of the North Gloucestershire Foursomes League.

The Ross points were scored by James Morgan and Jamie Wilde (3 and 2), Jason Bolton and Andy Stephens (5 and 4), Keith Crawford and Dave Daniels (3 and 1, Steve Wallbank and Drew Davis (4 and 3), James Heath and Niall Powell (4 and 2) and Dave Gardner and Warren Moore (4 and 2).

Anniversary Rose Bowl drawn pairs competition: 1 Ruth Pimlow and Geoff Baker 41 pts on back nine, 2 Pam Duke and Clive Whitson 41.

q Ken Mallender and Doug Parry of Herefordshire GC have progressed to the fourth round of the Daily Mail foursomes after a 5 and 4 win over Kington.

Herefordshire were beaten 5-1 in a Handicap League game by Bridgnorth, marking an improvement on the previous year’s result.

Keith Williams and Kevin Baylis halved after being three up at one point while Allen Brace and Mel also halved after being 5 and 6 up. Karl Alexander and Dave Caton lost 7 and 5, Roy Eckley and Steve Hunt lost 4 and 3, Steve Radziejowski and Jay Burton lost 5 and 4 and Pete Allman and Emyr Saer lost 2 and 1.

Herefordshire GC member John Lewthwaite, 71, had something to celebrate when he holed in one at the 171-yard, par-three 13th and was rewarded with membership of the Boss Watches H1 Club.

q Midweek stableford, Division One: Lee Collingwood 41 pts, 2 Ian Foster 40, 3 Tony Best 38; Division Two: 1 Dave Astley 37 pts, 2 John Price 36, 3 Mark A Williams 36.

Thirty two members took part in the arduous Spring Scratch and Mackie competition, played in a strokeplay format. Mackie Trophy winner: Morgan Radziejowski 68 and 65; Spring Scratch winner: Jon Devereux 70 and 69.

Monthly stableford and Shrewsbury Chronicle Cup qualifier, Division One: 1 Lee Collingwood 41 pts, 2 Lee Price 38, 3 Aaron Price 37; Division Two: 1 Paul Terry 42 pts, 2 Oli Greenow 41, 3 Brian Welling 37.

Centenary medal: 1 Paul Stephens 87-20-67, 2 Martin Hoyes 77-9-68, 3 Jeff Williams 83-15-68.

Ladies’ section Ellen Taylor Cup: 1 Athelae Hart 33 pts, 2 Iris Corfield 32 on back nine, 3 Eileen Jones 32.

May stableford: 1 Anna Powell 36 pts, 2 Gillian Broadhead.

Monthly stableford, silver division: 1 Tina Bell 32 pts, 2 Pat Millington 26; bronze ‘A’ division: 1 Janie Allman 34 pts, 2 Ellen Goodchild 33; bronze ‘B’ division: 1 Kathie Coonerty 28 pts, 2 Barbara Watts 24.

Mixed Armitage Times trophy: 1= Cliff and Sue Mawby, Julie Powell and Bren Standell 72 nett. The pairs will hold a play-off to decide the winners.

Seniors’ section, stableford qualilfier, lower handicap division: 1 Brian Matthews 37 pts (on c/b), 2 Cec Morgan 37 (on c/b), 3 Tim Townsend 37; higher handicap division: 1 Greg Brunt 38 pts, 2 Jim Sloan 36, 3 Geoff Gobey 34.

Harry Parkes Cup: 1 Bernard Hughes and Gordon Smith 41 pts, 2 Jeff Burkin and Derek Powell 40, 3 Chris Harrison and Cec Morgan 39 (on c/b), 4 Paul Roberts and Roy Allen.