HEREFORD and County Athletics Club have experienced a boom on the back of London 2012.

“Club numbers have doubled since the Olympics and we have lots of new athletes,” reported club vice-chairman Lesley Bennett to the club’s annual presentation evening at Hereford United’s Starlite Rooms, compered by club stalwart Ian Robertson.

“I would like to thank our secretary Tony Williams, who has had to deal with all the new enquiries,” added Bennett, who had seen the Olympics at first-hand as a Gamesmaker in the Olympic Stadium.

“Congratulations to all the award winners this evening, commiserations to those who have not won an award but it does not mean you are any less valuable to the club.”

The awards evening also heard from team-managers Bennett, Jon Fellowes and Phil Wells who were all able to report on successful seasons for their respective squads.

Club secretary Williams introduced one of the main awards of the evening, the club’s John Tarrant award presented in memory of the city’s great ‘Ghost Runner’ by his brother Vic.

“The award is presented for work behind the scenes at the club, which is now entering its 57th year,” he said.

“In the beginning, there was one coach – Herbie Samuels – and 10 athletes; now we have 15-20 people running the club but we still need more to follow.

“This year’s winner Jon Fellowes has given a lot to the club; he has been a team manager and run the club newsletter.”

Fellowes, however, is moving on from the club with his son, Tom, one of the club’s outstanding young athletes, who is progressing to Birchfield Harriers.

Fellowes junior picked up one of the premier awards of the evening when he was named one of the club’s young athletes of the year, alongside Jess Williams.

AWARD WINNERS Under-11 girl: Leila Hewitt and Merryn Jordan.

Under-11 boy: Lucas Tracey.

Under-13 girl: Ella Morgan.

Under-13 boy: Oscar Hewitt.

Under-15 girl: Jess Williams.

Under-15 boy: George Hudson.

Under-17 woman: Imogen Wilding.

Under-17 man: Tom Fellowes.

Junior woman: Sarah Jones.

Junior man: Tom Styles.

Senior woman: Ruth Wells.

Senior man: Josh Day.

Cross-country woman: Clara Evans.

Cross-country man: George Hudson. Cross-country merit (female): Not awarded.

Cross-country merit (male): George Glover and Kevin Barnes.

Most improved: Connor Tracey.

Best newcomer: Harry Bowen.

Club person of the year: Justin Williams.

Meritorious service: Kevin Barnes.

Coach of the year: Mary Smith.

John Tarrant award: Jon Fellowes.

Young athlete of the year (female): Jess Williams.

Young athlete of the year (male): Tom Fellowes.