Success for Whitecross in the battle of schools' old boys

First published in Golf by

WHITECROSS School Old Boys won the annual triangular 10-a-side old boys match with Hereford Cathedral School and Hereford High School at Herefordshire GC.

Wally Harding (38 pts), Wayne Barton (36) and Andy Morris (36) starred for the winning team.

Guest Steve Knight (40) was the top scorer for Hereford Cathedral, who finished second, while Gareth Lewis (37) and Norman Sockett (33) were the top performers for third-placed Hereford High School.

q Grove GC, Carol Jackson Plate: 1 Clare Hadley 41pts, 2 Liz Sykes 34, 3 Gina Whyke 34.

Badger competition: 1 June Bromage.

q Kington GC, Ladies section: Daily Mail Foursomes qualifier: 1 Jill Lloyd and Angela Wilkes 97-19-79.

Mixed section, Coronation Cup open stableford: 1 Mel and Chris Hughes (Builth Wells) 38 pts, 2 Ray Kellard (Kington) and Jo Danks (Redditch), 3 Kelvin and Ruth Alexander (Kington) 37, 4 Steve and Anne Lloyd (Builth Wells) 36; gross: 1 Robert Pritchard (Kington) and Sheryn Edwards (Builth Wells) 31 pts, 2 Ross Moore and Angela Wilkes (Kington) 26, 3 Nigel Scott and Claire Burton (Kington) 22, 4 Nigel Venables (Kington) and Iris Corfield (Herefordshire) 21.

Men’s section, Lewis Cup winner: Matt Weaver 66-3-63; Division One: 1 Kelvin Alexander 71-6=65, 2 Alan Williams 72-3-69; Division Two: 1 Mike Dyer 78-12-66, 2 Nigel Venables 84-13-71; Division Three: 1 Daniel Kelly 89-18-71, 2 Mark Freake 89-17-72. Waugh Cup (for 20-28 handicaps only): 1 Dave Dixon 106-23-83.

Seniors’ section, Summer League, Division One: 1 Bert Priday 43 pts, 2 Colin Mansell 39, 3 Gordon Glover 38; Division Two: 1 Rich Thwaites 41 pts, 2 Stan Arnold 39, 3 Dick Lee 35.

q Belmont GC, Vice-president’s bowl, nett: 1 Chris Storr and Shaun Reynolds 70.6, 2 Tony Smith and Geoff Foster 71.8, 3 Duncon Collier and Les Cooke 77; gross: 1 Mick Hemmings and Pete Wilcox 77.

Seniors section, team am-am open: 1 Percy Bristow, Steve Morgan, Alex Quinn and Elwyn Hamer 118 pts. John Bishop Cup: 1 Tommy Boswell 40 pts, 2 Keith Taylor 39, 4 Don Filer 38.

q Herefordshire GC, seniors stableford, 0-18 category: 1 Bren Standell 34 pts, 2 Roger Wardle 33, 3 Ken Wright 32; 18-28 category: 1 John Wood 36 pts, 2 George Field 34, 3 Robert Archer 32.

Ladies’ am-am: 1 Lorraine Bourne and Barbara Radbourne (Kington), Jane Spink and Jackie Barr (Herefordshire) 82 pts (40 on back-nine), 2 Pam Williams (Herefordshire), Anne Oldman, Mandy Haines and Sharon Helps (Burghill Valley) 82 (39 on back-nine), 3 Iris Corfield, Anne Wheatstone, Karen Darby and Jo Hawes (Herefordshire); nearest the pin (7th): Karen Darby; nearest the pin (13th): Chris Crisall (Herefordshire); nearest the pin (18th): Lorraine Bourne (Kington).

Monthly medal, silver division: 1 Tina Bell; bronze division ‘A’: 1 Ellen Goodchild; bronze division ‘B’: 1 Rita Rodick, 2 Marion Howe; golden putter: 1 Tina Bell.

Kington beat Herefordshire 2½-1½.

Karen Darby and Jo Hawes won the Herefordshire and Worcestershire County Fourball competition gross prize with 28 pts.

Herefordshire ‘A’ won 2-1 at Kington in the first of their round-robin fixtures in the Shropshire and Herefordshire Seniors Ken Smith competition.

Roy Joshua and Ken Mallender won their match with the other two matches halved. Kington’s John Priday and George Smith came from four down with six to play for a half while Andy Edey slotted a magnificent birdie on the last to gain a half.

q Burghill Valley, Mixed section Bader Cup: 1 Nigel and Marilyn Howard 40 pts, 2 Ruth and Mark Burrough 38, 3 Bernie and Helen Green 36 on count-back, 4 Danny Daniels and Heather Burley 36. The winners now progress to the regional round at the Bransford GC in July.

Ladies’ section EWGA September Medal, Division One: 1 Angela Powell 75, 2 Jane Collins 76 (c-b), 3 Chris Higgins 76; Division Two: 1 Sandra Cowell 76, 2 Helen Green 77, 3 Sally Thomas 78; Division Three: 1 Jean Taylor 74, 2 Jean Smith 78, 3 Jill Evans 79.

Iron Lady Trophy: 1 Sandra Cowell 32 pts, 2 Marilyn Howard 30, 3 Tilly Hare 29.

q Kingstone High School Golf Society, September Monthly Medal: 1 Adam Evans 35-14-21, 2 Morton Butt 36-14-22, 3 Luke Price 52-25-27, 4= Callum Shearer 42-14-28, Josh Smith 49-21-28, 6 Rory James 39-10-29.

q Leominster GC, seniors section, David Kent Cup: 1 Ted Amos 79-11-68 (c-b), 2 Bill Brown 87-19-68.

Derrick Jones Memorial Cup: 1 David O’Dowd 42 pts, 2 Michael Herbert 39, 3 Ian Fraser 37.

Ladies’ am-am: 1 Marion Phillips, Lyn Evans, Chris Sutton and Karen Oakley (Llandrindod Wells) 89 pts, 2 Lesley Turbutt, Carol Gardner, Di Gibson and Becky Murphy (Leominster GC) 87, 3 Jean Marshall, Marcia McFarlane, Sue Tamblyn and Linda Marsh (Tewkesbury Park GC) 84 (c-b), 4 Melanie Evans, Ruth Masters, M Billings and Conryn Abbott (Evesham GC) 84.

Bob Proctor Cup: 1 Andy and Jackson Merrick 43 pts, 2 Dan Davies and Brendan O’Brien 42 (c-b), 3 Kevin Gibbons and Dave Stephens 42.

q Cradoc GC, Military Cup: 1 Robert Hardy 68 nett, 2 Ben Rees 66, 3 Aled Rogers 70.

Midweek Medal: 1 Anthony Bowkett 71 nett, 2 Rod Bowen 71, 3 Scott Bowen 72.

Midweek stableford: 1 Pat Jones 38 pts, 2 Neil Morris 35, 3 Mike Lynch 35.

Seniors Open Pairs competition: 1 W Stevenson and D L Jones (Radyr) 44 pts (c-b), 2 Peter Childs and Dave Holton (Cradoc) 44, 3 M Hunt and D Craddock (Leominster) 43, 4 Bryan Jones and Tom Price (Cradoc) 41.

Cradoc Seniors were beaten 5½-2½ at home by Belmont when their winning pairs were Rick Jones and Bill Sisley (4&2) and John Ingham and Ivan Boreham (7&6) with Jack Massey and Tony James achieving the half.

The Seniors enjoyed a happier outcome when they beat visiting Summerhill GC 5½-1½. The winning pairs were Derek Brown and Vernon Bartlett (3&2), Graham Chamberlain and Mike Mellors (5&4), Colin Rosser and Lyn Greenway (1 up), Roger Thornhill and Peter Childs (1 up) and Ken Manning, who played on his own against the Summerhill pair and won 6&4. The half was secured by Roy Morgan and David Hughes.

Cradoc ‘A’ beat Raglan Park at Grove GC to win the South Wales Seniors Classic for the fifth time in 11 years. The winning team members were captain Anthony Payne, David James, Adrian pride, Paul Exton, John Jones and Terry Eckley.

q Ross GC, Autumn Scratch and Handicap, Scratch division: 1 James Morgan 73 gross, 2 Steve Wallbank 73, 3 Godfrey Farr 76; Handicap Division: 1 Mike Davies 63 nett, 2 Shaun Sturge 67, 3 James Ford 70.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree