BELMONT golfer Jamie Roach is the new Herefordshire Junior County Champion.

Roach’s gross score of 78 at the Herefordshire GC won him the Hereford Times Trophy from Josh Powell (Burghill Valley) by a single shot with Alex Tate, also of Burghill Valley, in third.

It was one step better this year for Roach who was beaten in a play-off for the championship in 2011.

The nett competition for the Sun Valley Trophy was won by Mat Jones of Burghill Valley (90-27-63) with another Burghill Valley player Izzy Turner (101-36-65) in second. Belmont’s Rory James (91-24-67) finished third.

Burghill Valley’s trio of Alex Tate (81), Josh Powell (79) and Mat Jones (90) won the team prize with a total of 250.

q Leominster GC — Ladies’ October Stableford: 1 Angela Southwell 29 pts, 2 Wendy Lane 25, 3 Jo Jull 24.

Men’s section Canadian foursomes: 1 Alan Densley and Ken Ford 47 pts, 2 Gary Fletcher and Ben Morris 46, 3 Mark Darroll and Gareth Davies 45.

q Belmont GC — individual stableford, Division One: 1 Paul Stevens 43 pts, 2 Colin Cladwyn 40, 3 Jamie Roach 38; Division Two: 1 Duncan Collins 41, 2 John Snead 39, 3 Tommy Taylor 39.

Winter League: 1 Ryan James and Jack Jones 47 pts, 2 David Oldham and Pete Crossley 46, 3 Graham Hodgson 45.

Medal Results, Division One: 1 Lee Bright 66 nett (best nett score), 2 Jamie Roach gross 74 (best gross score), 3 Luke WIlliams 72; Division Two: 1 and overall winner Chris Storr 64 nett, 2 Ben Stringer 64, 3 Brian Gough 73.

Seniors’ section CRP Trophy, two-leg competition: 1 Bill McGrath 73 pts, 2 John Alexander 69, 3 Alan Shakesheff 68, 4 Alex Quinn 65.

q South Herefordshire GC — Christmas Cup: 1 Laurie Mitchener 39 pts.

Captain’s away day at Cotswold Hills GC: 1 Peter Turner 37 pts.

October Stableford, Division One: 1 Roger Taylor 40 pts, =2 Rob Lerigo, Simon Sharpe 39; Division Two: 1 Mike Boutcher 41 pts, 2 Colin Spencer 38, 3 Shaun Harris 36.

The seniors’ section’s match with the ladies’ section was halved at 3-3.

Eight seniors took part in the Woodlake Parc Challenge Cup and performed creditably to return with fourth place.

q Luctonians Golf Society — at Sapey GC: 1 Chris Hartley 38 pts, 2 Adrian Hope 38, 3 Steve Large 36; front-nine: Robin East 17; back-nine: Joseph Collett 17; longest drive: Adrian Hope; nearest the pin: Steve Large.

Best average for the year: John Havard 32.28 pts.

q Grove GC, seniors’ section nine-hole stableford: 1 D Forsyth 24 pts, 2 R Sparey 20, 3 C Davies 20; nearest the pin: S Nichols.

q Herefordshire GC — Ladies’ section four clubs and putter competition, Division One (0-23 handicap): 1 Pat owen 26 pts, 2 Bette Hinchliffe 24 (on c/b), 3 Glynne Hall (on c/b); Division Two (24-36 handicap): 1 Sue Powell 25 pts, 2 Angela Jakes 22, 3 Margaret Thornton 21.

The ladies’ section beat the seniors’ section 5½-1½ in a challenge match and were also successful in two other matches. They beat Monmouth Ladies 3-1 and then won the Millennium Cup when the lady captain’s team beat the men’s captain team 7-1.

October medal, Division One: 1 Jan Preece 78, 2 Brenda Tingley 81; Division Two: 1 Jennie Oakland 79, 2 Jeannette Duncalfe 80; Division Three: 1 Vivienne Griffiths 86, 2 Rita Roddick 89.

q Kington GC — President’s Bowl (Premier SIngles knockout): Rob Metcalfe ll beat Geoff Smith in the final; George Smith and Alistair Button were the beaten semi-finalists.

HA Saunders Cup (Premier Pairs knockout): father and son Gary and Ross Moore beat Tony House and Kevin Barnes in the final.

Price Cup (Seniors Singles knockout, over 55): Joe James beat Barry Wilson in the final.

Christmas Stableford, winner: Tony House 42 pts; Division One: 1 Wyndham Evans 40 pts, 2 Kevin Barnes 38; Division Two: 1 Moray Mackintosh 41 pts, 2 Gary Moore 37; Division Three: 1 Marcel Veillet 41 pts, 2 Brian Dyer 38.

q Burghill Valley — Seniors’ captain Brian Hatfield’s captain’s drive-in stableford, Divison One: 1 Clive Shepherd 39 pts, 2 Steve Flack 38, 3 Bill Lockhart 37; Division Two: 1 Bill Toman 40, 2 Malcolm Cross 39, 3 Mike Buffey 37. Brian Hatfield began the competion with a drive of 190 yards.

Ladies’ section, Haven Pink Day Rose Bowl Stableford: 1 Mandy Haines, Carla Doyle and Chris Thurgood 81 pts, 2 Tina Lifely, Angela Thomas and Jacky Price 73, 3 Mary Crockett, Joan Dukes and Rosie Cole 68.

q Ross Seniors were beaten in the semi-final of the Gloucestershire Golf Union’s Seniors Foursomes Salver for over-55s when they went sown 2-1 to Cotswold Hills Seniors. Doug Duncanson and Brian Prosser were the winning pair.

Ross secured third place when they beat Lilley Brook Seniors 2-1 when the winning pairings were Tim Rigden and George Barrett and Gwynne Morgan and Colin Bennion.

Ross Seniors Over-75 Cup over 16 holes: 1 Cecil Wheatstone 33 pts (on c/b), 2 Arthur Stonadge; best octogenarian: Gerald Turner 28 pts.

Seniors captain’s away day at Monmouthshire GC in Abergavenny, Division One: 1 Graham Wearre 39 pts, 2 Geoff Thomas 35, 3 Brian Clouder 34; Division Two: 1 Phil Wilson 33 pts, 2 Mike Archer 31, 3 Trevor Flowers 31; nearest the flag: Arthur Reid, Trevor Flowersm Richard Topping, David Peacock, David M Rees.

Ross Seniors beat Burghill Valley 4½-3½ but lost by the same score at Sapey in the opening two matches of the round-robin league.

Ladies’ section — Josie Powell Cup: Helen Palmer 166; best gross score (Silver Division): Kerry Wilding 78; best gross score (Bronze Division): Sally Lawrence 100; best gross score (30-36 category): Cass Todd 116; Silver Division stableford prize: Amanda Marshall 38 pts on cb; Bronze Division: Margaret Sainsbury 33; October medal: Kerry Wilding 68 nett.