SOPHIE Price had plenty to celebrate when Ross Golf Club held their annual trophy presentation evening.

The 13-year-old, who had seen her handicap tumble from 47 to 32 during the year received two of the club’s major trophies, the Gordon Blake Cup and the Brian Huggett Trophy.

She also represented Ross Juniors in their North Glos County Junior Alliance success and looks to have a big future in the sport.

Eighteen-year-old Jake Howells was recognised as the club’s most improved player of 2012.

The 2011 junior captain has also cut his handicap during the year from 12 down to 6.7 where he is hot on the heels of his father, former club champion Tony Howells who plays off 6.4.

Jake was an integral member of the club’s ‘A’ team, alongside fellow juniors Harry Butler and Jacob Ashdown, as they won the North Gloucestershire Foursomes League.

Other Ross Juniors to have their success celebrated were Henry Tilling, who won the AD Evans Cup, and James O’Connor, who won the Alfred Kitchen Cup.

q Grove GC, ladies’ monthly stableford, overall winner: Clare Hadley 33 pts; Bronze ‘A’: 1 Christine Anning 27 pts, 2 Bridget Halpern 25; Bronze ‘B’: 1 Clare Hadley 33 pts, 2 Irene Gallagher 27.

Nine-hole Badger competition: 1 Margaret Garland.

Seniors’ weekly stableford: 1 Ted Buckley 19 pts, 2 Bill Bacon 18, 3 Robin East 18; nearest the pin: Robin East.

Herefordshire GC, mixed section, Moyes Trophy winners: Steve Hunt and Jenny Cooke 45 pts; low handicap section: 1 Dave Hemming and Sue Mawby 39 pts, 2 Doug Parry and Chris Crissall 38, =3 Karen Darby and Jeff Williams, Cliff Mawby and Ann Wheatstone, Gary Duncalfe and Janet Hill 37; high handicap section: 1 Steve Hunt and Jenny Cooke 45 pts, 2 Tony Smith and Ann Evans 43, =3 Barrie Spink and Jackie Barr, Harry Ellam and Viv Griffiths, Mark Bloxham and Marie Parry 38. Seniors’ stableford, 0-17 category: 1 Cec Morgan (aged 84) 44 pts, 2 Terry Neate 42, =3 Graham Davies, David Knowles 40; 18-28 category: 1 Don Roberts 37, =2 Clive James, Colin Dean 36, 4 Reg Dudman 35.

q Kington GC, seniors’ October medal, Division 1: 1 Colin Mansell 61 nett, 2 David Weston 66, 3 Bert Priday 67; Division Two: 1 Frank Goodwin 65, 2 Dave Haley 67, 3 Dave Patterson 67.

q Leominster GC, ladies’ nine-hole accumulator: 1 Gillian Sandell 15 pts (on c/b), 2 Pat Owen 15, 3 Angela Southwell 13.

Men’s singles stableford, Division One: 1 Craig Brimmell 38 pts, 2 Shane Jones 36, 3 Kevin Gibbons 34 (on c/b); Division Two: 1 Marcus Price 39 pts, 2 Mike Storr 36 (on c/b), 3 Tony Wathen 36; Division Three: 1 Gary Stinton 39, 2 Trevor Perry 35, 3 Ashley Moran 34.