WARREN Darrell won’t be too upset with the rain-ravaged summer after triumphing in two re-arranged annual competitions at Ross-on-Wye GC.

The six-handicapper struck his best form to win the Centenary Cup and the Eddie Hodges Fourball Better Ball Medal.

Darrell fired a gross 74, nett 68, to seal the Centenary Cup, while Tim Wyatt shot a nett 69 and narrowly failed to add to the five trophies he won over the summer.

David Price, with a nett 70 along with Jason Bolton also nett 70, also performed well in the event which attracted 105 members. Darrell joined forces with Mark Whitmore to carry off the annual Fourball Better Ball crown which was contested by 32 pairs.

Their nett 65 was too good for the chasing pack in which James Morgan and Steve Wallbank shot a nett 67 to finish second.

Lee Cartwright and Andrew Stephens, with nett 68, took third spot.

Former Ryder Cup star Brian Huggett presented the prizes to the best performers in the Club’s 2012 Twilight Eclectic competition.

He also initiated an enjoyable question and answer session about his experiences and views on the golfing world. Adrian Hope, James Price and James Berry won the three Twilight Eclectic sessions, scoring 46 points, 49 points and 49 points respectively.

James Price won the Eclectic Finals 18 holes competition in which Berry, Dale Gribble and Andy Hobbs had qualified. Steve Phillips organised the event which took place over an eight-week spell on Tuesdays during the summer.

q Other results: Burghill Valley GC — Ladies’ results: Burghill Valley lady captain Ann Oldman presented Bromsgrove with the winners’ trophy in the Droitwich Inter-club League title. Redditch took the runners-up prize.

q Herefordshire GC — Men’s results, Hargrove Trophy, first round: The ‘A’ side recorded an overall 4-2 win against Bridgnorth after taking the second leg, 2-1.

The ‘B’ side recorded a win over Church Stretton ‘B’.

Seniors’ stableford, 0-17 handicap: 1 Frank Hart 36 points, 2 Terry Garratt 36, 3 Bren Standell 35; 18-25 handicap: 1 Greg Brunt 39, 2 Reg Dudman 36, 3 John Hinton 34.

q Kington GC — Men’s results, October medal, Division One: 1 Colin Mansell 61 nett, 2 David Weston 66, 3 Bert Priday 67; Division Two: 1 Frank Goodwin 65, 2 Dave Haley 67, 3 Dave Patterson 67.

q Leominster GC — Men’s results, Three-man Waltzer: 1 Ken Ford, Marcus Price and Mike Storr 83, 2 Iain Ashcroft, Andrew Wood and Gary Stinton 77, 3 Alan Densley, Tom Chadwick and John Ford 76.

Ladies’ results, Ladies’ salter greensomes stableford: 1 Gillian Sandell and Wendy Lane 27 points, 2 Lesley Turbutt and Becky Murphy 23.

q Grove GC — Ladies’ results, Lady President’s Cup: 1 Clare Hadley 34 points, 2 Jane Luffman 31, 3 Caroline Lewis 31.

Badger nine-hole competition: 1 Julia Higgs, 2 Chris Hill.