Class second places for Lucky Break karters

First published in Sport

LUCKY Break Racing collected two second places when they entered two teams in the ProKart four-hour endurance competition at Llandow Racing Circuit.

On a wet day, it was soon obvious that the two teams, who were Neil Robinson, Stuart Smith, and Simon Smith in team one and Kris Coe, Mark Bevan, and Caity Robinson in team two, had put on the wrong gearing as they were running a second slower than the leaders.

As there was no time to make a change, all the teams could hope for was that the rain would get heavier rain to level the playing field.

Their hopes were realised and, after the first hour, Lucky Break were fifth and eighth.

Team two had to change an engine and, although they were back on the track in less than eight minutes, they dropped back to 12th.

Drivers changed after an hour and a half and second drivers were out for an hour when team one made up another place and team two regained eighth place.

But team two's engine problems were not completely behind them and a further change saw them drop back down to 10th.

The final drivers were out on the course when the downpour began in earnest and four of the leaders were taken out going through the hairpin.

Three restarted but the outright leader had to withdraw with smashed steering, which altered the outlook.

As the weather changed again and the track began to dry, both Lucky Break drivers rose through the field with team two lapping nearly a second faster than team one.

At the final flag, the teams had both secured second places in their classes, team one in the clubmen class and team two in the 160 class..

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree