Runners brave the elements for New Year's Day 10km race

First published in Sport

THE New Year deluge failed to deter almost 200 runners from Herefordshire and beyond from taking part in the 30th anniversary 10km race , organised by Wye Valley Runners.

Therace was started by Peter King, organiser of the very first New Year's Day 10k, run from the Woodpecker Club in 1985.

"The race has probably never been run in such testing conditions with heavy rain and deep pools of surface water testing the resolve of the competitors," said Wye Valley club spokesman Mike Shaw.

Eliot Taylor put in a strong performance to secure a narrow victory in the men’s race in 35.05.

Taylor finished just nine seconds ahead of Jimmy Richards of Wye Valley Runners with Jonathan Pugh of Rhayader Harriers a close third in a time of 35.21.

Kathryn King of Wye Valley Runners put in a dominant performance to win the ladies' race in a time of 40.27. Megan Judge of Malvern Joggers was second and Rebecca Davies of Wye Valley Runners third in times of 42.42 and 45.00 respectively.

Wye Valley Runners secured both the men’s and ladies' team awards. Winning men were James Richards, Greg Wood and Daniel King, winning ladies were Kathryn King, Rebecca Davies and Laura Tootell.

There were special awards to two of the competitors.

Kathryn King, the first Hereford athlete to qualify for the World Triathlon Championships in Kona, and Paul Watts, a blind runner who has completed more than 260 marathons, were both awarded Wye Valley Runners' prestigious Mighty Oak awards.

The Alex Moore Memorial trophy was awarded to Wye Valley’s Nikki Childs.

A collection for Wye Valley Runners charity of the year, Marches Family Network, raised £50.

“The very difficult conditions failed to dampen the spirits of the 186 runners that braved the run and an incredible 145 runners still managed to complete the course in under 60 minutes,” said club spokesman Mike Shaw.

“We wish to thank all those that participated and particularly the many volunteers who marshalled the course in very trying circumstances.”

Men’s awards: 1.Eliot Taylor (Hereford Couriers) 35.05, 2. James Richards (Wye Valley Runners) 35.15, Jonathan Pugh (Rhayader Harriers) 35.21; V/40 James Richards (Wye Valley Runners) 35.14,,V/45 Mike Pfeiffer (Brecon AC) 36.28, V/50 Ian Smith (Severn AC) 39.41, V/55 Kevin Burke (Stourbridge RC) 40.09, V/60 David Jones (Denbigh Harriers) 49.49, V/65 Peter Smith (Wye Valley Runners) 49.43, V/70 Brian Symonds (Wye Valley Runners) 51.58.

Female Awards: 1. Kathryn King (Wye Valley Runners) 40.27, 2. Megan Judge (Malvern Joggers) 42.42, 3. Rebecca Davies (Wye Valley Runners) 45.00; V/35 Kathryn King (Wye Valley Runners) 40.27, V/40 Nicola Tyler (Wye Valley Runners) 47.17, V/45 Celia Speake (Builth & District) 46.29, V/50 Nikki Childs (Wye Valley Runners) 47.00, V/55 Jan Edwards (Wye Valley Runners) 51.35, V/60 Margaret Monk (Parc Bryn Bach)

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree