Hereford and County Athletics CLub celebrate successful season

Hereford Times: Hereford and County Athletics Club's under-11 award winners (from left) Jodie Hanson, Luca Rowe, Patrick Morgan and Darcie Jones. Hereford and County Athletics Club's under-11 award winners (from left) Jodie Hanson, Luca Rowe, Patrick Morgan and Darcie Jones.

HEREFORD and County Athletics Club had plenty to celebrate when they held their annual awards evening at Hereford United's Starlite Rooms.

The club won the Les Davies Trophy in the Welsh Under-15 League while Jess Williams again went to the English Schools' Games and pole vaulter Katie Harman represented the Midlands in the Sainsbury's Youth Olympics.

Club chairman, Richard Smith, welcomed 100 club members and guests and thanked athletes, coaches, officials and team managers for their hard work and commitment throughout the year.

Guest speaker Richard Wydenbach's amusing speech recalled last year's Olympic Games and the great work carried out by volunteers, comparing them to the volunteers at Hereford and County Athletics Club.

He said: "A club like this cannot run without the help and effort of these people."

Club secretary, Tony Williams, presented Lesley Bennett and Sharon Lovejoy with chocolates to thank them for organising the evening and treasurer and membership secretary, Karen Morris, was given a bouquet of flowers for her hard work behind the scenes.

He also surprised Richard Wydenbach by presenting him with the John Tarrant Cup for his work and long association with the club. Richard is the announcer at all the club's home fixtures.

After the awards and an excellent supper, a signed and framed photograph of Mo Farrah (kindly donated by Mr and Mrs B Morgan) was auctioned and a raffle was held followed by a disco.

2013 Winners: Best under-11 boys, Patrick Morgan and Luca Rowe; Best under-11girl, Jodie Hanson; Best under-13 boy, Luke Darwin; Best under-13 girls, Libby Probert and Rhiannon Turton; Best under-15 boy, George Hudson; Best under-15 girl, Cora Bennett; Best under-17 man, Harry Boswell; Best under-17 woman, Jess Williams and Katie Harman; Junior woman, Sarah Jones; Senior man, Josh Day; Senior woman, Ruth Wells; Cross country woman, Clara Evans; Cross country man, James Fawcett; Cross country merit female, Savannah Dixon; Cross country merit male, Will Lovejoy; Most improved, Aileen Moore; Best newcomer, Scott Silver; Club person, Ben Thompson; Meritorious service, Justin Williams; Coach of the Year, Lesley Bennett; John Tarrant Cup, Richard Wydenbach; Young Athlete of the Year female, Jess Williams and Kate Harman; Young Athlete of the Year male, Harry Boswell.


Get Adobe Flash player
About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree