Girl power wins the day for Herefordshire Motor Club at Leominster awards night

First published in Sport

GIRL power showed the men the way forward when Herefordshire Motor Club held their annual awards presentation at The Hickory Stick, near Leominster.

For the first time in the club’s history, the top three awards went to female members for their organisation and general support, input to events and promotion of HMC.

Sue Underwood was named best overall member with Caroline Wilks in second place and Pat Pugh third.

President Robert Andrews and chairman Len Evans presented two trophies to John Moffatt, one for the best performance on off-road events for winning the MSA and BTRDA Car Trials Championships and another for best Vauxhall car driver.

Theo Bengry received the Hall’s Pork Shop Trophy for furthering the name of HMC, while his co-driver Les Forsbrook had the Paul Watkins Memorial Award to acknowledge winning the D-Mack Tyres BTRDA Historic Cup series.

Best Ford driver was Steve Wilks, who won his class in the Cotswold series with his wife Caroline. The Bengry Motors Challenge Cup for best performance on Welsh stage rallies went to Roger Chilman and Bryan Thomas, with Chilman also collecting the trophy for best performance of a four-wheel drive car.

Trophies were presented to Gillian Powell for best lady member with Kirsty Pugh runner-up while Gerald Watkins was best marshal.

Jim Lewis took the award for best male newcomer, while Dan Evans was best driver on club organised events and also won the club’s lightweight class in the karting series, with Stuart Eden taking the heavyweight class. Lewis Mason was the best male junior club member for the second consecutive year with Mike Pugh winning the 2012 10-pin bowling challenge.

Liam Rollings won the karting and bowling event, as well as being the overall winner of December’s Snowman Autotest.

A raffle on the night raised £180 for the County Air Ambulance.


Comments are closed on this article.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree