TALENT at cross-country obviously runs in the family in Herefordshire.

Both of this year’s individual winners at Herefordshire County Cross-Country Championships at Monkhall Farm are following in the footsteps of a parent who was a previous winner of the event.

Croft Ambrey’s Suzanne Turvey won the women’s race and now has a gold medal to add to the ones claimed by her mother Nicky Turvey, also of Croft Ambrey, in both 1983 and 1993.

Suzanne, although just a toddler, was present at her mum’s second success but, understandably, has no recollection of events.

And in the men’s race, in-form Eliot Taylor ran a winning race in the colours of Hereford Couriers as did his father Tim Taylor in 2001.

Wye Valley Runners’ newcomer James Richards won the Veteran Men’s (Over 40) title.

And in the Veteran Women’s (Over 35) section, Wye Valley’s Jane Rowlands who is running impressively in the over 50 ranks beat off the attentions of younger rivals to take the prize.

Clara Evans, of Hereford & County AC, added to her large collection of age-group titles with success in the Junior Women’s (Under 20) race.

And the Croft Ambrey club enjoyed another succes when Andrew Davies, in his first season of cross-country competition, was a convincing winner of the Junior Men’s title.

County team titles were also at stake with three runners to count for both men and women.

Wye Valley took the Senior Men’s prize with strong runs from Luke Mason, Greg Wood and Adam Michniok and the city club continued their domination of the men’s events with Richards, John Pullen and Mike Fawcett taking the Veteran Men’s title.

Suzanne Turvey, Gemma Mallett and Irina Dale helped Croft Ambrey to avoid a Wye Valley clean sweep in the Senior Women’s competition.

But it was another Wye Valley success in the Veteran Women’s team race with Rowlands, Becci Ansfield and Jan Edwards combining well to take the title.

INDIVIDUAL WINNERS SENIOR MEN: 1 Eliot Taylor (Hereford Couriers) 45.12, 2 Luke Mason (Wye Valley Runners) 45.27, 3 Stacey Morgan (Croft Ambrey) 48.23.

SENIOR WOMEN: 1 Suzanne Turvey (CA) 51.17, 2 Katherine King (WVR) 54.59, 3 Kylie Mansfield (Hereford Triathlon Club) 57.06.

VETERAN MEN: 1 James Richards (WVR) 44.31, 2 John Pullen (WVR) 45.31, 3 Simon Norwood (CA) 47.18.

VETERAN WOMEN: 1 Jane Rowlands (WVR) 54.59, 2 Sarah Holton (HTC) 57.31, 3 Becci Ansfield (WVR) 59.02.

JUNIOR MEN: 1 Andrew Davies (CA) 26.47, 2 Ben Davies (WVR) 31.06.

JUNIOR WOMEN: 1 Clara Evans (Hereford & County AC) 27.36, 2 Naomi Prosser (Cardiff University AC) 35.51.

TEAM WINNERS SENIOR MEN: 1 Wye Valley Runners (Luke Mason 2nd, Greg Wood 4th, Adam Michniok 7th) 13 points; 2 Croft Ambrey (Stacey Morgan 3rd, Mark Lamonby 5th, Paul Price 9th) 17 points.

VETERAN MEN: 1 Wye Valley Runners (James Richards 1st, John Pullen 2nd, Mike Fawcett 5th) 8 points, 2 Croft Ambrey (Simon Norwood 3rd, Neil Powell 8th, Glyn Williams 9th) 20 points; 3 Hereford Couriers (Mike Link 4th, Russell James 6th, Dave Williams 10th) 20 pts.

SENIOR WOMEN: 1 Croft Ambrey (Suzanne Turvey 1st, Gemma Mallett 4th, Irina Dale 5th) 10 points; 2 Wye Valley Runners (Katherine King 2nd, Annie Ransome 6th, Sandrine Gorien 7th) 15 pts.

VETERAN WOMEN: 1 Wye Valley Runners (Jane Rowlands 1st, Becci Ansfield 3rd, Jan Edwards 5th) 8 pts.