Kim Alman is the big winner after saturated harness racing season

First published in Sport

THE saturated season washed away two of the four meetings that Hereford and Borders HRC had planned in 2012, but there was still plenty of action at Allensmore, with 32 races attracting 224 horses.

Kim Alman will be taking much of the silverware back to Gladestry, including the Leading Horse prize with her promising young mare, Summers Dream, when the awards lunch is held at The Bunch of Carrots, Hampton Bishop on Sunday, December 16.

Awards Leading Horse: 1 Kim Alman’s Summer’s Dream, 2 Stella Havard’s Tantalizing, 3 Debbie Morris’ Ithon Ghost.

Fastest Member’s Time Of The Season At H&B Fixtures: 1 Mervyn Davies’ Dark Fox, 2 Wesley Jones’ Ja Ja Binks.

Santana Lad Memorial Series: 1 Summer’s Dream, 2 Tantalizing, 3 Ithon Ghost.

Other Outstanding Seasonal Performances: Patrick Morris, Tan-Y-Castell, Karen Lowes’ Symlog Ace.

Rising Stars: Strickland Family’s Kruger, Sara Price’s Duggans Panache, Roy Sheedy’s Wellfield Ghost, Nigel Pinches’ Giggs, Danny Millard, Andre Gilbert Snr.

Leading Owner: 1 Kim Alman, 2 Stella Havard, 3 Roy Sheedy, 4 Bret and Michelle Strickland.

Leading Trainer: 1 Kim Alman, =2 Lee Morris and Stella Havard, 3 Dave Allen. Leading Driver: 1 Sarah Allen, =2 Patrick Morris and Mark Pritchard.

Leading Young Driver: =1 Jed Strickland and Victoria Allen, 2 Nathan Strickland.

Leading ‘C’ Class Driver: 1 Martin Roberts, 2 Angharad Frieze, 3 Roy Sheedy. ‘C’ Class Driver Races Points Series: =1 Victoria Allen, Martin Roberts and Stuart Harris.

Leading (Very) Senior Driver: 1 Trevor Knott, 2 Alan Westwood.

Over 50s Driver Series: 1 Bret Strickland, 2 Roy Sheedy, 3 Patrick Morris.

Leading Newcomers: =1 Victoria Allen, Danny Millard and Angharad Frieze.

Caretakers Of The Year: Maureen Westwood and Rachel Sydenham.

Outstanding Official Duty: Jackie Maguire, David Seale, Wesley Jones, Jim Lawrence, John Harris, Dai Arch, Shirley Bevan, Andre Gilbert Junior, Vic Lane, Nick Powell, Roland Pugh, Tim East, Dave Shellam, Michael R Brooks, Jeff and Margaret Langford.

Chairman’s Choice: Martin Roberts, Kathryn Lloyd, Dave Seale and Dave Shellam, Strickland Family.

Club Officials Of The Year: Kathryn Lloyd, Michelle Strickland and Brian Reynolds.

Personalities Of The Year: Keith Young, Patrick Morris and Jo Alman.

Club Members Of The Year: Patrick Morris, Maureen and Alan Westwood, Michelle Strickland, Martin Roberts, Fred and Sheila Baker, Kim Alman, Dave Seale, Roland Pugh, Jed and Nathan Strickland, Beccy Baker, Rachel Sydenham, Wesley Jones, Lyn Mould and Sarah Allen.

Unsung Heroes Of 2012: Karina Pugh, Ray Jenkins, Keith Thomas, Richard Owens, Glenys Jones, Bret Strickland, Kirsty Lee and Sarah Collins, Sue Seale, Chloe Wakefield, Gillian Rees, Sue and Carly Young, John and Billy Evans.

Comments (1)

Please log in to enable comment sorting

4:14pm Wed 28 Nov 12

mizza21 says...

Ah yes the joys of the saturated harness. A rather soggy sport but worth it nonetheless.
Apparently they soak their equipment in goats weewee before they race.
Ah yes the joys of the saturated harness. A rather soggy sport but worth it nonetheless. Apparently they soak their equipment in goats weewee before they race. mizza21
  • Score: 0

Comments are closed on this article.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree