HEREFORD fire station commander Neil Pigott praised his staff for their efforts when he spoke at a recent awards evening.

Wayne Hoskins, from Bromyard, was one of those recognised for passing his NVQ level three in firefighter development Shaun Harris, also from Bromyard, Ben Scott and Simon Papworth from Hereford, and Ledbury’s Craig Cummings and Joel Skyers also gained the NVQ mark.

Among those recognised for completing the trainee firefighter programme were Philippa Jones, from Bromyard, Adam Lockley- Holder and Mark Cooper from Fownhope, Arran Semple from Hereford, Iain Morris from Kingsland, Leanne Player from Kington, Richard Juniper from Ledbury and Samuel Griffiths from Leominster.

And two crew commanders – Simon Powney from Kingsland and Andrew Phillips from Hereford – received the A1 assessors’ award for developing firefighters’ overall performances.