Herefordshire Council has a “new look” cabinet

1:31pm Wednesday 29th May 2013

By Bill Tanner

HEREFORDSHIRE Council has a “new look” cabinet this week.

The appointment of cabinet members and committee chairs was confirmed at Friday’s full council meeting.

Having seen an already tough cabinet brief for health and well-being turn torrid after a damning OFSTED report on child safeguarding in the county, Councillor Patricia Morgan has been “shuffled” to the corporate services and asset management portfolio.

Councillor Graham Powell, previously cabinet member for education and infrastructure, becomes cabinet member for adult social care and housing. He will also chair the health and well-being board.

Coun Philip Price stays on as deputy leader of the council but swaps the corporate portfolio for roads. Councillor Jeremy Millar becomes cabinet member for children and education.

Other cabinet posts are: Councillor Russell B Hamilton (core strategy and environment), Councillor Harry Bramer (major contracts), and Councillor Roger Phillips (culture and economic development).

Former leader Councillor John Jarvis will chair the health and social care scrutiny committee.

Other committee chairs are: Coun Alan Seldon (General Overview and Scrutiny), Councillor John Stone (Audit and Governance), Councillor Phil Cutter (Planning), Councillor John Hope MBE (Regulatory).

Councillor Olwyn Barnett and Councillor Chris Chappell were elected chairman and vice-chairman of the council respectively.


© Copyright 2001-2017 Newsquest Media Group

Hereford Times: Site Logo

Click 2 Find Business Directory