JOHN Kyrle High School in Ross-on-Wye is celebrating a record set of results.

A total of 64 per cent of students achieved A* to B grades, with 89 per cent gaining A* to C.

Overall, the school achieved a 99.75 per cent pass rate.

Students who did particularly well included Jonny Shipton, who will read computer science at the University of Cambridge after gaining two A*s, two A's and a B while head boy Billy Jones is off to study physics at the University of Warwick after scooping an A* and two A's.

Other high achievers include head girl Phoebe Matthews, Jennifer Borland, Kiah Dickinson, Michael Evans, Gina Gardner, Katie Gauntlett, Beth Graham, Ben Jenkins, Thomas Leadbeater, Duncan Lyster, Adam McVey, Beth Morgan, Liam Powell, Ysanne Pritchard, Joseph Pye and Annie Ridgway.

The latest results are an improvement on last year's when the school was placed in the top 10 per cent of schools and colleges in the country.

Headteacher Nigel Griffiths said: "In addition to these exceptional academic achievements, students have involved themselves in all aspects of school life.

"They have participated in music, drama, sport and fund-raising as well as being subject ambassadors working with younger students in maths, modern foreign languages and literacy."

Subject departments that did particularly well included English literature, maths, modern foreign languages, social sciences and the arts.

John Masefield High School

NEARLY all students at John Masefield High School passed their A-levels.

The Ledbury school reported a 99 per cent pass rate, with 39 per cent of students gaining an A* or A.

A total of 79 per cent received A* to C grades.

Top achievers included Lottie Mapp, who will read French and Spanish at Oxford University after gaining three As and head girl Harmony Skittery, who secured an A* and three As.

She will now go to the University of Nottingham to study medicine.

Other notable achievers included Lauren Ackerman, Darren Baetjer, Caitlin Brown, Paige Brown, Sophie Cockett, Rachael Franzen, Jono Gooch, Callum Green, Sophie Hawkes, Louise Kearsey, James Kennedy, Niko Kopoleinen, Connon McKeown, Sophie Mitton and Emma Price.

A number of students also undertook the Extended Project Qualification (EPQ).

This is an additional research-based qualification that is recognised by some universities as a way to develop and demonstrate independent study and research skills required for successful transition to higher education.

All of the students who undertook the EPQ passed, with more than 55 per cent achieving an A* or A grade.